E-Journals
- Social SciencesA list of e-journals in the social sciences available to Centre College users.
Find and Use Databases
When looking for articles on your topic, the best way to start is to search within article databases. The Library has access to dozens of databases, which in turn index thousands of periodicals. Many, but not all, contain the full-text of articles.
Finding Databases
To find the appropriate databases, go to the Library website.
- If you need a few good articles, search under the Articles tab on the library homepage.
- If you have a specific database in mind, go to Databases A-Z
- If you don't know which database to use, go to Research Guides
Using Databases
Once in a database, start with a KEYWORD search using words relevant to your topic. When you see an article that looks interesting, click on the title to see the complete citation. If there are SUBJECT TERMS or DESCRIPTORS, click on those that seem related to your topic to get other articles on the subject.
Some tips:
- Not all databases have the full-text of articles. Some only provide citations and abstracts. Use the Look for full text with LinkSource icon to see if the full-text of the article is available in another database.
- If the Library doesn't have access to a journal, you can obtain the article through interlibrary loan.
- Almost all Library databases can be accessed from off-campus. The easiest way to do this is to use links from the Library website. You will then be prompted for your Centre ID and password to authenticate yourself as an authorized user.
Good Places to Start
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowDesigned for college students, this scholarly resource contains indexing and abstracts for more than 13,780 journals, with full-text for more than 9,000 of those titles.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowProvides image and full text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in several social sciences and humanities disciplines including African-American Studies, Anthropology, Economics, Education, Literature, Philosophy, Political Science, and Sociology. The most current issues (typically from the past three to five years) are not included.
- Social Services Abstracts This link opens in a new windowProvides bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development. The database abstracts and indexes over 1,300+ serials publications and includes abstracts of journal articles and dissertations, and citations to book reviews.
- Sociological Collection This link opens in a new windowProvides coverage of more than 500 full-text journals in all areas of sociology.
Other Sociology Databases
- Annual Review of Sociology This link opens in a new windowEssays cover current research in the field. Articles are organized under broad subjects, such as theory and methods, demography, urban and rural sociology.
- ERIC (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowProvides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education index. Includes the full text of more than 2,200 digests along with references for additional information and citations and abstracts from over 1,000 educational and education-related journals.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowProvides full-text and abstracts to over 2,500 journals published by Elsevier and its affiliates. ScienceDirect includes extensive coverage in science, engineering and medicine, plus many core journals in business, social sciences and humanities.