Reference Links
- Dictionary of Symbolism This link opens in a new windowThis online dictionary of symbols provides some possible cultural significances of various symbols, and suggests ways in which those symbols may have been used in context. Maintained by the University of Michigan.
Reference Books
Fantasy and Horror by
More than 2,300 works of fiction and poetry are discussed, each cross-referenced to other works with similar or contrasting themes. Winners and nominees for major awards are identified. Books that are part of a series are flagged, with a complete list of books in series included in a final chapter, along with a comprehensive list of awards, of translations, and of young adult and children's books.
ISBN: 9780810835962Publication Date: 1999-06-17
The Oxford Companion to American Literature by
For more than half a century, James D. Hart's The Oxford Companion to American Literature has been an unparalleled guide to America's literary culture, providing one of the finest resources to this country's rich history of great writers. Now this acclaimed work has been completely revised andupdated to reflect current developments in the world of American letters.For the sixth edition, editors James D. Hart and Phillip Leininger have updated the Companion in light of what has happened in American literature since 1982. To this end, they have revised the entries on such established authors as Saul Bellow, Norman Mailer, and Joyce Carol Oates, and they haveadded more than 180 new entries on novelists (T. Coraghessan Boyle, Tim O'Brien, Louise Erdrich, Don De Lillo), poets (Rita Dove, Weldon Kees), playwrights (Wendy Wasserstein, August Wilson), popular writers (Stephen King, Louis L'Amour), historians (James M. McPherson, David Herbert Donald, WilliamManchester), naturalists (Aldo Leopold, Edward Abbey), and literary critics (Camille Paglia, Richard Ellmann). In addition, the Companion boasts more women's, African-American, and ethnic voices, with new entries on such luminaries as Charlotte Perkins Gilman, M.F.K. Fisher, William Least Heat-Moon,Ursula Le Guin, and Oscar Hijuelos, among many others.These additions represent only some of the revisions for the new edition. Of course, the basic qualities of the Companion that readers have grown to know and love over the years are as superb as ever. With over 5,000 total entries, The Oxford Companion to American Literature reflects a dynamicbalance between past and contemporary literature, surveying virtually every aspect of our national literature, from the Pulitzer Prize to pulp fiction, and from Walt Whitman to William F. Buckley, Jr. There are over 2,000 biographical profiles of important American authors (with informationregarding their styles, subjects, and major works) and influential foreign writers as well as other figures who have been important in the nation's social and cultural history. There are more than 1,100 full summaries of important American novels, stories, essays, poems (with verse form noted),plays, biographies and autobiographies, tracts, narratives, and histories. The new edition provides historical background and astute commentary on literary schools and movements, literary awards, magazines, newspapers, and a wide variety of other matters directly related to writing in America.Finally, the book is thoroughly cross-referenced and features an extensive and fully updated index of literary and social history.Ranging from Captain John Smith to John Updike, and from Anne Bradstreet to Anne Rice, the sixth edition of The Oxford Companion to American Literature is up to date, accurate, and comprehensive, a delight for both the casual browser and the serious student.
ISBN: 9780195065480Publication Date: 1995-10-12
British Writers, 1800 to the Present by
Encyclopedia of British Writers: 1800 to the Present, Second Edition profiles almost 900 of the finest British poets, novelists, playwrights, essayists, and other writers of the 19th, 20th, and 21st centuries. All entries in this new edition of the award-winning encyclopedia have been fully updated and expanded, almost 100 new entries have been added, and more than 100 new 'Critical Analysis' sections have been added to major writers. Each entry includes essential details about the author's life and work and suggestions for further reading. Entries on major writers include a 'Critical Analysis' section that discusses one or more works in greater detail. Writers from Ireland and nations of the British Commonwealth are also included. A valuable addition to any high school literature classroom or library, this comprehensive two-volume encyclopedia also features an author timeline, a general bibliography, and entries on key terms and movements of the century. New entries include: Martin Amis, Margaret Atwood, Charles Babbage, Anne Bronte, Olaudah Equiano, Susan Fletcher, Nick Hornby, Hanif Kuresishi, C.S. Lewis, Frank O'Connor, Beatrix Potter, Terry Pratchett, J.R.R. Tolkien, and Dorothy Wordsworth.
ISBN: 9780816073856Publication Date: 2009-05-01
Encyclopedia of British Women's Writing, 1900-1950 by
This study provides a comprehensive and wide-ranging resource which includes information on many previously neglected British women writers (novelists, poets, dramatists, autobiographers) and topics. It provides contextualizing material, with concise introductions to related topics, including organizations, movements, genres and publications.
ISBN: 9781403916921Publication Date: 2006-03-01
