Oxford Reference Online
Search dozens of Oxford University reference books.
Why Use Reference?
Encyclopedias and and other reference works provide background information. This is a selection of Asian history-related encyclopedias and reference works. For other sources please search the Centre Library Catalog or ask a reference librarian.
Online Reference Sources
- Encyclopedia Britannica Online This link opens in a new windowOnline equivalent of the printed Encyclopedia Britannica plus numerous supplementary resources.
- Asia: Country Studies This link opens in a new windowBook length accounts of Asian countries published by the Library of Congress in the 1990's.
- World Rulers This link opens in a new windowContains lists of heads of state and heads of government of all countries and territories, going back to about 1700 in most cases. Also included are the subdivisions of various countries, as well as a selection of international organizations. Recent foreign ministers of all countries are listed separately.
Print Reference Sources
Encyclopedia of India by
Home to a fifth of the world's population and the largest democracy in the world, India holds a prominent place in current events yet remains unknown or misunderstood by many people who seek a single, authoritative source for information on this political and economic dynamo. The Encyclopedia of India meets this need, encompassing the history, cultures, geography, and religions of India from ancient times to the present day. As India's role in global politics and economics continues to grow, readers will find the wide range and depth of information contained within this work an indispensable tool to gaining a solid appreciation of India and its place in our modern world.
ISBN: 9780684313498Publication Date: 2005-11-28
Encyclopedia of Modern Asia by
The Encyclopedia of Modern Asia is a monumental new scholarly work, as expansive in scope as the continent of Asia itself. Under the direction of cultural anthropologist David Levinson, 800 contributors from around the world -- including 25 Asian countries -- provide 6, 000 articles on Modern Asia from a global perspective. The Encyclopedias comparative, cross-cultural approach allows students and researchers to identify the similarities and differences among Asian nations and religions. The work focuses on Asia in the modern world -- including Central Asia, the Middle East and the Far East -- and contemporary issues are given full and authoritative treatment. Historical articles emphasize people, places, events and developments that have had a lasting influence on Asia. Articles also cover Asian relations with Western nations, the relations between nations within Asia and also the flow of people, goods and ideas within Asia and globally. Also includes approximately 1, 000 black-and-white photographs, maps, sidebars and a comprehensive index.
ISBN: 9780684806174Publication Date: 2002-11-27
Historical Dictionary of Taiwan (Republic of China) by
Provides detailed information on places, events, and people in Taiwan and explains the importance of each while relating most of Taiwan's identity as a nation or alternatively its ties to China. The information contained in this book also links Taiwan's history, society, economic growth, and politics, to its status and importance in the world community.
ISBN: 9780810836655Publication Date: 2000-01-10
Historical Dictionary of Vietnam by
Vietnam became part of French Indochina in 1887 and did not regain its independence again until after the Vietnam War. However, despite a relatively peaceful two decades the country experienced little economic growth because of conservative leadership policies. In an effort to change this stagnation, Vietnamese authorities have committed to economic liberalization and enacted structural reforms needed to modernize the economy and to produce more competitive, export-driven industries. The third edition of this dictionary focuses on the recent changes and leadership of Vietnam while giving due attention to the earlier kingdoms, the period of French Indochina, the wars for liberation, the Vietnam War, and much more. Hundreds of cross-referenced A to Z dictionary entries are included on political, economic, social and cultural aspects as well as the major cities and geographic features. This book also contains a chronology and introduction that traces Vietnam's history, as well as a bibliography.
ISBN: 9780810850538Publication Date: 2006-02-27
Kodansha Encyclopedia of Japan by
This nine-volume reference contains over 10,000 articles exploring every aspect of Japanese society, history, politics, economy, thought and culture. The 50,000-item index is cross-referenced for easy location of facts.
ISBN: 9780870116209Publication Date: 1983-11-01
Southeast Asia by
An in-depth, historical encyclopedia of Southeast Asia, with coverage from prehistoric times to the end of the 20th century for each country in the region. * Over 800 A-Z entries covering a wide range of diverse historical topics from the Bataan Death March to the Ramayana * Contributions from an international panel of over 130 scholars * Illustrations, maps, and photographs that are informative, critical, and up to date * A chronology, bibliography, and index complete the coverage
ISBN: 9781576077702Publication Date: 2004-10-13
The Encyclopedia of the Vietnam War by
Now in its second edition, this comprehensive study of the Vietnam War sheds more light on the longest and one of the most controversial conflicts in U.S. history. * Includes many photographs and illustrations that bring the Vietnam War to life * Contains more than 200 primary sources in a separate documents volume, with full introductions for each * Presents an extensive chronology of historic events and a glossary of terms * Provides cross-references and bibliographies that facilitate further research
ISBN: 9781851099610Publication Date: 2011-05-20
