Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Oxford Reference Online
Search dozens of Oxford University reference books.
Why Use Reference?
Encyclopedias and and other reference works provide background information. This is a selection of Asian history-related encyclopedias and reference works. For other sources please search the Centre Library Catalog or ask a reference librarian.
Online Reference Sources
Encyclopedia Britannica Online
Online equivalent of the printed Encyclopedia Britannica plus numerous supplementary resources.
Europe: Country Studies
Book length accounts of European countries published by the Library of Congress in the 1990's.
Oxford Reference Online
A continually-updated collection of language and subject dictionaries, encyclopedias, and other reference works published by Oxford University Press. All titles in the collection are cross-searchable; individual titles may be searched separately as well.
Europa World (Europa World Yearbook Online)
In-depth country profiles (summary of history, current events, government directory, statistics, and more). Choose countries from the drop-down menu at the top.
Print Reference Sources
Dictionary of the Middle Ages by Published under the auspices of the American Council of Learned Societies Visit every aspect of medieval life in Western Europe, the Scandinavian north, the Byzantine and Slavic east, the Muslim south, and the ubiquitous world of Judaism from A.D. 500 to 1500. Here you can explore the conditions of daily life, major and minor figures, terms and concepts, countries and provinces, and movements, monuments, people, and events.
Publication Date: 1989-04-01
Encyclopedia of Western Colonialism since 1450 The overseas empires of Western Europe, including the US first as colony then as colonizer, is deemed here to have ended in the middle to late 20th century. Over 400 articles provide information about such aspects as economic concepts and ideas, explorations and migrations, industries, organizations and institutions, people and peoples, religions,
Publication Date: 2006-08-25
Europe, 1450-1789 by This new detailed set explores European history from 1450-1789, from the print revolution to the French Revolution. The set's 1,150 articles, written by eminent scholars, cover major topics in art, government and education as well as providing biographical entries on key figures of the period. In addition, the set covers topics specific to the era, such as apocalypticism, guilds, food riots, royal mistresses and lovers, the Spanish inquisition, Utopia and others. Each volume includes a color frontispiece and an eight-page color insert. Features include approximately 750 black-and-white photographs, 30 maps, a year-by-year chronology, a topical outline and index, a research guide and a comprehensive index.
Publication Date: 2003-11-19
Encyclopedia of the Age of War and Reconstruction by The tumultuous recent century of Europe's history is traced in this five-volume set, which picks up the story begun in its companion set, Europe 1789-1914 . Profiling the age of war and reconstruction, Europe Since 1914 details European history from the Bolshevik Revolution to the European Union, linking it to the history of the rest of the world. Many transformations in the European story are covered in this easily accessible collection of about 675 illustrations and 920 articles: Europe sundered by war and genocide, Europe reconfigured after World War II and the Cold War, and Europe making a new place for itself on the world stage. Written by about 500 leading experts from universities all over the world, the set effectively covers a broad scope, encompassing the period's scientific and economic, social and cultural, political and military developments. Users will find in it the major facts about the period, clear explanations of the main lines of scholarly interpretation and guidance through scholarly controversies. Sidebars add interest and clarification, a chronology and thematic outline offer concise context that builds meaningful connections, and article specific bibliographies offer guidance for further reading. Each volume also includes an 8-page color insert and a comprehensive index that allows quick access to target information.
Publication Date: 2006-09-20
Europe since 1945 by First Published in 2004. Routledge is an imprint of Taylor & Francis, an informa company.
Publication Date: 2001-01-01
International His Statistics by This book, the only global, multidisciplinary source of comparative historical data available, has been updated to include statistics, through the year 1993. International Historical Statistics (IHS) is an essential tool in exploring the forces leading to current global events. IHS can help identify global and regional trends as well as provide insight into past events.
Publication Date: 2001-05-18
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Women in World History by The Oxford Encyclopedia of Women in World History captures the experiences of women throughout world history in a comprehensive, 4-volume work. Although there has been extensive research on women in history by region, no text or reference work has comprehensively covered the role women haveplayed throughout world history.The past thirty years have seen an explosion of research and effort to present the experiences and contributions of women not only in the Western world but across the globe. Historians have investigated womens daily lives in virtually every region and have researched the leadership roles women havefilled across time and region. They have found and demonstrated that there is virtually no historical, social, or demographic change in which women have not been involved and by which their lives have not been affected. The Oxford Encyclopedia of Women in World History benefits greatly from theseefforts and experiences, and illuminates how women worldwide have influenced and been influenced by these historical, social, and demographic changes.The Encyclopedia contains over 1,300 signed articles arranged in an A-Z format for ease of use. The entries cover six main areas: biographies; geography and history; comparative culture and society, including adoption, abortion, performing arts; organizations and movements, such as the EgyptianUprising, and the Paris Commune; womens and gender studies; and topics in world history that include slave trade, globalization, and disease. With its rich and insightful entries by leading scholars and experts, this reference work is sure to be a valued, go-to resource for scholars, college andhigh school students, and general readers alike.
Publication Date: 2008-01-23
Women in Western European History, First Supplement by Since 1984, when the second volume of Women in Western European History became available, a significant amount of new material has been published that will be of importance to researchers and students with an interest in women's status and experiences in European history. This new bibliography, which encompasses the period from antiquity to the present, supplements and udpates the earlier volumes. In addition to new and recently discovered works, later editions and translations of previously cited works are offered.
Publication Date: 1986-12-09