Website: Statistical Resources: International Statistics

Getting Started

World Factbook This link opens in a new window
Basic encyclopedic information from the CIA about countries around the world, such as history, people, politics, geography, and more. CIA World Factbook has information on the percent of different ethnic groups within individual nations.

Background Notes (U.S. State Department)
Includes facts about the land, people, history, government, political conditions, economy, and foreign relations.
Eurostat
The statistical office of the European Union.
International Database
Tabular data for countries and regions as well as demographic indicators, population pyramids, and source information for countries.
Monthly Bulletin of Statistics (UN)
Current economic and social statistics for more than 200 countries and territories of the world.
NationMaster.com
Compiles data from prominent international statistics sources, and presents them graphically to allow for country comparisons.
Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD)
Statistics on a range of topics for OECD member countries.
Population and Vital Statistics (UN)
Includes most recent data on population size.
Social Indicators (UN)
Social indicators covering a wide range of subjects, including population, health, housing, education, and work.
Statistics and Indicators on Women and Men (UN)
Latest statistics and indicators on women and men in population, health, women and men in families, education, work, and political decision making.

UNData This link opens in a new window
Keyword searchable database over over 50 million records from the United Nations and its agencies. Includes demographic, economic, education, health, environmental, agricultural, and technology indicators.

World Bank
Statistics and data on development indicators, including birth rate, death rate, GDP per capita, and population.

Statesman's Year-Book
Call Number: JA51 .S7 (LATEST EDITION IN REFERENCE)
This annual publication provides a summary of statistical, political, and economic data on all the countries of the world and many international organizations.
Statistical Yearbook (United Nations)
The most current statistics on social and economic conditions and activities at world, regional, and national levels, covering roughly a ten-year period. Includes data on national accounts, industry, energy, transport, international trade, and population.
World Factbook
Call Number: JF37 .U56 (LATEST EDITION IN REFERENCE)
Annual publication of the Central Intelligence Agency with almanac-style information about the countries of the world, including a two- to three-page summary of the demographics, geography, communications, government, economy, and military of 266 U.S.-recognized countries, dependencies, and other areas in the world.
World Factbook
Call Number: Internet
Electronic version of the World Factbook listed above. The CIA web site will have the most current version. Earlier editions can be found at Hathi Trust Digital Library.