Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The first Kiss this Ten Years! - or - the meeting of Britannia & Citizen François
Encyclopedia of European Social History by The Encyclopedia of European Social History covers all aspects of European social history from the Renaissance to the present. This six-volume reference includes more than 230 articles, ranging from 5,000 to 10,000 words, on everything from serfdom and the economy, to witchcraft and public health. This reference provides a survey of hundreds of topics. Included are more than 700 photographs, drawings and maps. The sixth volume also includes biographies of prominent European figures and a comprehensive index.
Publication Date: 2000-12-20
Britain in the Hanoverian Age, 1714-1837 by Special features *Surveys of Britain, with substantial coverage of Wales, Scotland, and Ireland *Comprehensive in its range of individual topics *Written in concise, clear and readable style *Generously illustrated, with many rare engravings and line drawings *An extensive system of cross-referencing, indexing, and subject groupings facilitates information searches *Offers an interesting selected chronology Also includes 385 maps and illustrations.
Publication Date: 1997-09-01
The Kings and Queens of England by Returning to some of the perennial questions of philosophy, this book examines questions about the meaning of life; about death and tragedy; about the respective roles of rationality and passion in the good life; about love, compassion, and revenge; about honesty, deception, and betrayal; and about who we are and how we think about who we are.
Publication Date: 2001-01-01
Historical Dictionary of the British and Irish Civil Wars, 1637-1660 by During the seventeenth century, the British Isles were trapped in a 23 year-long state of turmoil through civil war, continued rebellion, and revolutions. King Charles I wanted to instill a new uniform religious policy throughout the British Isles, and this caused a massive uproar over the King's policies toward the diverse people in his empire-the English, Irish, Scottish, and Welsh. No person remained unaffected in the kingdom and eventually King Charles I was executed and the entire system of monarchy tumbled into a short-lived republic. Eventually the monarchy was restored under King Charles II, but the history of the British Isle in the seventeenth century remains forever marked by its tumultuous nature. Through a concise historical chronology and comprehensive overview, users of the Historical Dictionary of the British and Irish Civil Wars will find an insightful explanation of the people, places, and events that indelibly shape the United Kingdom's seventeenth-century history. The cross-listed dictionary entries offer a complete explanation of each important aspect of the Civil Wars and their effect on the Kingdom. Also includes maps and a bibliography.
Publication Date: 1999-12-22
Encyclopedia of the Enlightenment by Defining the Enlightenment as the "long eighteenth century," the Encyclopedia focuses on the entire range of philosophic and social changes engendered by the Enlightenment. It extends the conventional geographical boundaries of the Enlightenment, covering not only France, England, Scotland,the Low Countries, Italy, English-speaking North America, the German states, and Hapsburg Austria but also Iberian, Ibero-American, Jewish, Russian, and Eastern European cultures. Nor does the Encyclopedia of the Enlightenment limit itself to major centers like Paris in France and Edinburgh inScotland, but shares the rich lode of recent scholarship on "secondary" and "provincial" centers such as Berlin and Geneva; Philadelphia and Milan.The Encyclopedia of the Enlightenment brings a similar spirit of inclusion to the new theoretical and methodological approaches that have flowered in the humanities during the past two decades. Including feminist and various post-modernist reassessments alongside more traditional perspectives, thefour volumes offer the broadest possible range of current knowledge.Accessibility combined with scholarly rigor make the Encyclopedia the first choice for researching any aspect of the Enlightenment.
Publication Date: 2002-12-26
The Encyclopedia of Britain by A compendium of information about Britain. This book covers British men and women in all fields of human activity; UK history; towns and places in the UK, including tourist attractions; science and technology successes; Britain's cultural heritage: writers, visual arts, architecture, music, TV, film, sport and more; and 200 quotes on Britain and the British way of life.
Publication Date: 1999-01-01