Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Wall painting from the head offices of the British East India Company, 1778 (The British Library: Foster 245, Roma Spiridione, 'The East offering its riches to Britannia')
Primary Source Databases
New York Times (Historical)
Includes all the articles published since the first issue of the paper in 1851 up to 2008. In addition to news stories, includes editorials, letters to the editor, obituaries, birth and marriage announcements, photos, and advertisements. Recent issues are available on the LexisNexis Academic database.
The Times (London) Digital Archive, 1785-2012
Full-image archive of every page published by The Times (London) from 1785-2012. The text within the images is fully searchable at the article level. Does not include the Sunday Times, the Times Literary Supplement, the Times Educational Supplement, the Times Higher Education Supplement. For current articles, see Lexis-Nexis Academic.
The 19th Century Pamphlet Collection is primary source material. When searching JSTOR, limit to "pamphlets" to search this collection.
British History (BBC)
The main page of the BBC History website that relates to British history.
British History Online
Digital versions of primary & secondary sources for the history of the British Isles: parliamentary journals, tax records, church documents, calendars and indexes, directories, Ordnance Survey maps, & volumes in the Victoria County History.
The British Library features a "help for researchers" page, which lets you narrow down your search by topic, time period and resource type.
EuroDocs: Primary Historical Documents from Western Europe
These links connect to Western European (mainly primary) historical documents that are transcribed, reproduced in facsimile, or translated. They shed light on key historical happenings within the respective countries (and within the broadest sense of political, economic, social and cultural history). The order of documents is chronological wherever possible.
Internet History Sourcebook Project (Fordham University)
Provides access to online primary source material for a number of branches of history. The project offers a combination of locally hosted material and links (often annotated) to documents on other sites. The three main sourcebooks cover ancient, medieval, and modern history; in addition to these, there are subsidiary sourcebooks, which take a thematic approach.
Internet Library of Early Journals (ILEJ)
A joint project bey the Universities of Birmingham, Leeds, Manchester and Oxford which aims to digitize substantial runs of 18th and 19th century journals. Browse by journal title or search the full-text (full-text searching is only available for select titles).
Find links between well-known figures in English history. A fun site to use
The Kraus Collection of Sir Francis Drake
cis Drake, English explorer and naval strategist, circumnavigated the earth from 1577-1580. During these travels, Drake visited the Caribbean and the Pacific claiming a portion of California for Queen Elizabeth and waging battles on the Spanish. This collection comprises important primary and secondary materials accumulated about Drake’s voyages throughout the then Spanish territory of the Americas. Texts are in English, Latin, German, Dutch, Italian, Spanish and French.
National Archives (Great Britain)
This website gives public access to the National Archives catalogue, which contains "9.5 million descriptions of documents from central government, courts of law and other UK national bodies, including records on family history, medieval tax, criminal trials, UFO sightings, the history of many countries and many other subjects."
Proceedings of the Old Bailey
Access to the full-text and digitized images of the accounts of over 197,000 criminal trials that took place at London's notorious criminal court, the Old Bailey, from the seventeenth to the early twentieth century.
Anti-Slavery International has digitised its collection of 18th and 19th century literature on the Transatlantic Slave Trade. Recovered Histories captures the narratives of the enslaved, enslavers, slave ship surgeons, abolitionists, parliamentarians, clergy, planters and rebels.
The Victorian Web (Brown University)
Provides a comprehensive general overview of nineteenth century British history and literature. The site is divided into sections on political, social, and economic history. There are also sections on gender matters, philosophy, religion, science, technology, genre and technique, authors, visual arts and Victorian design.
World Digital Library Home
The World Digital Library, supported by UNESCO, is a project to provide primary sources from other countries and cultures free of charge, and is offered in seven different languages, including Arabic,...
Rochambeau Map Collection
The Rochambeau Map Collection contains cartographic items used by Jean Baptiste Donatien de Vimeur, comte de Rochambeau (1725-1807), when he was commander in chief of the French expeditionary army (1780-82) during the American Revolution. The maps were from Rochambeau's personal collection, cover much of eastern North America, and date from 1717 to 1795. The maps show Revolutionary-era military actions, some of which were published in England and France, and early state maps from the 1790s. Many of the items in this extraordinary group of maps show the importance of cartographic materials in the campaigns of the American Revolution (1776 to 1783) as well as Rochambeau's continuing interest in the new United States.
Colonial North American at Harvard
Colonial North America at Harvard Library provides access to remarkable and wide-ranging materials digitized as part of an ongoing, multi-year project. When complete, the project will make available to the world approximately 470,000 digitized pages of all known archival and manuscript materials in the Harvard Library that relate to 17th- and 18th-century North America.