HIS 500: Research Guide: Dictionaries and Encylopedias

General Sources in History

• Atlas of World History -- G1030.T54 1989
  
• American Historical Association Guide to Historical Literature--   Reference D20.A55 1995
• Chronology of World History 3 vols. -- D11. M39 1999
• Biographical Dictionary of Women in Science -- Reference Q141.B5285 2000
  
• Dictionary of Historical Documents -- Reference D9.K63 1990
• Dictionary of Scientific Biography -- Reference Q141.D5 1981
• Dictionary of Scientists (Oxford Reference Online)
• New Cambridge Modern History 4 vols. D208.N4
  
• Notable Twentieth-Century Scientists -- Reference Q141.N3 1995

World History

• Encyclopedia of African History 3 vols. -- Reference DT20 E53 2005 
  
• Civilization of the Ancient Mediterranean 3 vols.--DE 59.C55 1988
  
• Civilizations of the Ancient Near East  3 vols.-- Reference DS 57.C55 1995
  
• Companion Encyclopeadia of the History of Medicine 3 vols.-- Reference R133.C65 1993
• Dictionary of the Middle Ages 14 vols.-- Reference D114.D5 1982 
• Encyclopedia of Asian History 4 vols.-- Reference DS31. E53 1988
  
•  Encyclopedia Britannica --Online
  
• Encyclopedia of European social history from 1350-2000-- Reference HN373.E63 2001
• pedia of the Gilded Age -- Reference E661.E53 2005
• Encyclopedia of Irish history and culture -- Reference DA912.E53 2004
• Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture 3 vols.--Reference F1406. E53 1996
• Encyclopedia of the Enlightenment 3 vols. -- CB411. E53 2003
• Encyclopedia of the Middle East 6 Vols.--DS4 L48 2002
•  Holocaust and WWII Almanac. -- D804.17.H65 2001
• Encyclopedia of Russian History 4 Vols.  -- DK 14 E53 2004
• Encyclopedia of the Vietnam War: a Political, Social and Military History 3 vols. -- DS 557.7. E53 1990
• The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Reformation 3 vols. -- BR 302.8.093 1996
• Europa World YearBook--Online
• European Bibliography of Slavic and European Studies--Online
• Oxford Reference Online
  

American History

• American Men and Women of Science -- Reference Q141.A47 2003
• American National Biography 24 vols.-- Reference CT213.A68 1999
• Dictionary of American History 3 vols.-- Reference E174.D52 1976
• Encyclopedia of African American History -- Reference E185.E54 2006
  
• Encyclopedia of American History -- Reference E174.E53. 2003
• The Encyclopedia of American political history -- Reference E183.E48 2001
• Encyclopedia of American religious history-- Reference BL2525. Q44 2001
• Historic Documents -- E839.5. H57 1987
• The Oxford companion to American military history-- Reference E181.O94 1999 
• American Women's History-- Reference HQ1115.W4 1994
•  Kentuckiana--Online
  
• Kentucky Encyclopedia--Online