HIS 361 American Environmental History: Primary Sources

Inventories of archival collections.

From the original 1818 survey to more recent items, this is a digital collection of selected archival material from the Special Collections. Trustees and faculty minutes, annual catalogs, and various programs. The bulk of the items date from the 19th-century.

Minutes of the Centre College Trustees from 1819 to 1933. The volume covering the years 1854-1862 has been lost for many years, and its fate remains unknown. Until 1848, when a separate journal was begun, the Trustees minutes also include entries for today's Kentucky School for the Deaf, and provide a source of information on the early history of that institution. Later years are located in Special Collections.

Minutes of the Centre College faculty from 1860 to 1914. Later years are located in Special Collections.

Minutes from 1858 to 1925. While there are gaps in the Trustees minutes, they, along with the annual catalogs, provide the main source of information about the history of the college.

Issues from 1914 to 1998 on on microfilm. Earlier and recent issues are located in Special Collections.

Microfilm holdings are from 1870-2005. The holdings for early years are incomplete. NOTE: There is no index for the local newspapers.

Photographs of Centre College, Kentucky College for Women, and the Danville/Boyle County region. The earliest photographs date from the 1870's.

Information on Danville homes and history.

Provides alphabetical list of residents and street guides.

Digitized versions of various postcards of Danville and the surrounding area.

Map of Danville and Boyle County, including buildings and owners.

Originally prepared for the exclusive use of fire insurance companies and underwriters, Sanborn Maps give detailed depictions of city buildings. They include such information as building dimensions, construction details, and significant building features. Danville maps are for 1886, 1891, 1896, 1901, 1908, 1914, 1927, and 1938.

Database of the NRHP. Searchable by name or location. Entries include the National Register registration form, which provides a physical description of the place, information about its history and significance, and a bibliography.

The Kentucky Sanborn Maps Collection brings together over 4,500 map sheets representing over 100 Kentucky cities and towns. The maps show property lines, buildings with construction and insurance characteristics and addresses. Danville maps are for 1886, 1891, 1896, 1901, 1908, and 1914.

Images, maps, manuscripts, etc. regarding the history of Kentucky. Search for "Centre College," "Danville," "Boyle County," or specific sites/persons. You may limit your results by the format you wish to include in your research (i.e. maps, images, etc.)