Website: Judaism: Find Reference Sources

Online Reference

Encyclopedia Britannica
more...less...
The online equivalent of the printed Encyclopedia Britannica plus numerous supplementary resources
Jewish Encyclopedia
more...less...
Contains the complete contents of the 12-volume Jewish Encyclopedia, which was originally published between 1901-1906. Since the original work was completed almost 100 years ago, it does not cover a significant portion of modern Jewish History (e.g., the creation of Israel, the Holocaust, etc.). However, it does contain an incredible amount of information.
Oxford Reference Online: Religion & Philosophy
more...less...
Search individually or simultaneously several Oxford reference books in the area of religion.

Reference Sources

Britannica Encyclopedia of World Religions
Call Number: Reference BL31 .B75 2006
One-volume dictionary containing entries, of varying lengths, that cover the major topics, concepts, people, artifacts, and places related to religions around the world.
Encyclopedia of Religion
Call Number: Reference BL31 .E46 2005
A 15-volume encyclopedia that covers all aspects of religion from Aaron to Zwingli. Many articles include annotated bibliographies.
Religions of the World
Call Number: Reference BL80.3 .R45 2002
Multi-volume encyclopedia that covers the religions of more than 240 countries, including all of the larger religious communities, denominations, and sects, plus a number of small but newsworthy religious groups.
Worldmark Encyclopedia of Religious Practices
Call Number: Reference BL80.3 .W67 2006
Information on current religious practices around the world. Volume 1, Religions of the World, contains 20-to-25-page entries on 13 major religions and 3-to-5 page entries on 28 religious subgroups. Volumes 2 and 3 focus on the significant religions in 193 countries.
Blackwell Companion to Jewish Culture
Call Number: Reference DS102.8 .B46 1989
A comprehensive account of the Jewish contribution to every cultural field over the past 200 years, covering prominent figures from politics, religion, science, the performing arts, and more.
Dictionary of Judaism in the Biblical Period
Call Number: Reference BM50 .D525 1996
Historical literary, religious, and archaeological background for understanding the canonical form of the Bible, the texts of the Second Temple period, and the classical writings of rabbinic Judaism.
Encyclopaedia Judaica
Call Number: Reference DS102.8 .E496 2007
A comprehensive survey of all aspects of Jewish life and thought. This second edition contains twenty two volumes and close to 22,000 entries.
Historical Dictionary of Judaism
Call Number: Reference BM50 .S65 2006
Presents information on important persons and institutions in Judaism as well as concepts, writings, rites, and practices. It includes several tables, appendices, a chronology of the Jewish religion, and a bibliography for further research.
Jewish Women in America
Call Number: Reference DS115.2 .J48 1997
Lives, history and activities of Jewish women in the United States, covering a period which extends from the arrival of the first Jewish women in North America in 1654 to the present.
New Encyclopedia of Judaism
Call Number: Reference BM50 .E63 2002
A general introduction to Judaism, focusing on religious life, contemporary issues, and historical development.
Timetables of Jewish History
Call Number: Reference DS114 .G68 1993
Displays entries chronologically and geographically, illustrating important people, significant events, and works of cultural interest in their historical context.