Oxford Reference Online
Search dozens of Oxford University reference books.
Why Use Reference?
Encyclopedias and and other reference works provide background information. This is a selection of Latin American history-related encyclopedias and reference works. For other sources please search the Centre Library Catalog or ask a reference librarian.
Online Reference Sources
- Americas: Country Studies This link opens in a new windowBook length accounts of Latin American countries published by the Library of Congress in the 1990's.
- Encyclopedia Britannica Online This link opens in a new windowOnline equivalent of the printed Encyclopedia Britannica plus numerous supplementary resources.
- Oxford Encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas in the United States This link opens in a new windowCovers such broad topics as identity, art, politics, religion, education, health, and history.
- Oxford Encyclopedia of Mesoamerican Cultures This link opens in a new windowCovers art, archaeology, religious studies, anthropology, history, and historiography of Pre-Hispanic, colonial, and modern Mesoamerica in fully cross-referenced, signed articles.
Print Reference Sources
Encyclopedia of Mexico by
First Published in 1998. Routledge is an imprint of Taylor & Francis, an informa company.
ISBN: 9781884964312Publication Date: 1997-10-01
Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture by
Unparalleled in its sweep, the Encyclopedia covers a region and a time span never before attempted in English. Its 5,300 entries over four volumes, organised in A-Z dictionary format, treat the entire territory of Spanish and Portuguese conquest and exploration in the New World from the windswept plains of Patagonia to the Alaskan harbour of Valdez to the island nations of the Caribbean. Each country is the subject of a narrative historical survey and a series of entries on its history and geography, its politics, constitutions, political parties, labour unions, and educational institutions. Cross-cultural essays elaborate the broad themes of Pan-American civilisation, the roles of women and the family, the history of African and native slavery, conquest, revolution, immigration, and political stability, the rise of industry and commerce, relations with the United States, and the exploration and protection of natural resources on two continents. The Encyclopedia is completely up-to-date and includes such controversies as the North American Free Trade Agreement and the changes in Haiti."
ISBN: 9780684192536Publication Date: 1995-12-01
