Website: History: Latin America: Images, Newspapers and Media

Images

ARTstor This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Digital library of more than one million images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences with a suite of software tools to view, present, and manage images for research and pedagogical purposes. Centre College faculty may upgrade their ARTstor account to instructor status by contacting Crystal Ellis.
The Mapas Project This link opens in a new window
The Mapas Project has as its focus the digitization and study of colonial Mesoamerican pictorial manuscripts. The term "mapa" was used loosely in New Spain to refer to pictorials that may or may not have had a cartographic dimension, but often showed the territories or landscapes of indigenous communities.
Visual Culture in Spanish America: 1520-1820 This link opens in a new window
Latin American Posters Collection This link opens in a new window
The posters included in this collection were created by a wide variety of social activists, non-governmental organizations, government agencies, political parties, and other types of organizations across Latin America, in order to publicize their views, positions, agendas, policies, events, and services. Even though posters produced in Argentina, Bolivia, Chile, Ecuador, Mexico, and Venezuela are the most abundant among the more than two thousand currently available in the site, almost every country in the region is represented.
Collection of Latin American and Iberian Posters This link opens in a new window

Newspapers

The Southern Star/Estrella Del Sur This link opens in a new window
The English set up a bilingual newspaper in Montevideo called the “The Southern Star/ La Estrella Del Sur” 1807

Media

Nine short reels from artists Stefan Hirsch and Elsa Rogo. Films were shot in Mexico. This link opens in a new window
Recently, Smithsonian Institution’s Archives of American Art (AAA) preserved and digitized nine short reels of film from the papers of artists Stefan Hirsch and Elsa Rogo.
These movies were shot in Mexico between 1935-1941.
Vanderbilt Television News Archive This link opens in a new window
The Vanderbilt Television News Archive is the world's most extensive and complete archive of television news. We have been recording, preserving and providing access to television news broadcasts of the national networks since August 5, 1968.
The collection spans the presidential administrations of Lyndon Baines Johnson, Richard Nixon, Gerald Ford, Jimmy Carter, Ronald Reagan, George H.W. Bush, Bill Clinton, George W. Bush and Barack Obama. The core collection includes evening news broadcasts from ABC, CBS, and NBC (since 1968), an hour per day of CNN (since 1995) and Fox News (since 2004). Special news broadcasts found in the Archive include political conventions, presidential speeches and press conferences, Watergate hearings, coverage of the Persian Gulf War, the events of September 11, 2001, the War in Afghanistan, and the War in Iraq.

Subject Guide

Karoline Manny

She/her

Email Me

Contact:

Karoline Manny
600 West Walnut Street
Danville, KY 40422

859.238.5299

Subjects: Anthropology, Children's Literature, Copyright, Economics, Education, Environmental Studies, History, International Relations, Law - U.S., Politics, Reference, Religion, Sociology, Spanish