Introduction to Comparative Politics: Elections and Political Behavior

Long-running series of survey data on voting, public opinion, and political participation. 1960 - 2012.

Online analysis of American National Election Survey from Berkeley's Survey Data Analysis. This is a great place to start if you want to explore questions asked, get initial frequencies, or select individual questions across surveys for data download.

Online data analysis from Berkeley's Survey Documentation and Archive for the General Social Survey. This is a great place to start exploring the General Social Survey, look at frequencies for individual questions, select individual questions for data download.

The NORC project web site contains additional information about the survey and an easy to use codebook that lists the variables by subject.

Comparative data on the cost and administration of elections.

Detailed federal election results for most countries in the world, for most recent elections, often by party by district.

Results by country; not currently updated but has historical data.

Federal and provincial election surveys, voting results, campaign finances.

These datasets from John Carey at Dartmouth include analysis of constitutions, legislative voting, elections in Latin America, and electoral system design.

Participating studies include common questions in their post-election surveys.

"The central aim of the Constituency-Level Elections Archive (CLEA) project is to produce a repository of detailed results - including votes received by each candidate/party, total votes cast, number of eligible voters, and seat figures where available - at a constituency level for the lower house legislative elections that have been conducted around the world."

Covers 867 legislative elections, 294 presidential elections, regime types, district size, assembly size, and more variables across 199 countries from Matt Golder at NYU. He also includes links to other useful elections datasets.

Strength of political parties by ideology in capitalist democracies.

From Dave Lublin, constituency election results for over 80 countries.

Information on dates and links to websites for election results from around the world.

From the Center on Democratic Performance at Binghamton University, election results from 134 democratic countries back to 1974.

Election results for 18 Western European countries from 1815 until 2000. From the CD-Rom that accompanies the book "Elections in Western Europe since 1815 : electoral results by constituencies" by Daniele Caramani.

Wilfried Derksen migrated his respected resource Election World to Wikipedia last year. Very comprehensive but use with caution knowing Wikipedia's open editing policy.

Regularly updated voter turnout statistics for national presidential and parliamentary elections since 1945 using registered voters and voting age participation (VAP).

From UCSB, chronologies and a bibliography of helpful sources when researching LAC elections.

Web archives related to a number of international elections and the U.S. 2000 - 2008 elections.

"Static research collection of district level election results for approximately 350 national legislative elections in 26 countries that was maintained through 2003."

Directory of websites providing district-level election results, by country.

Website by Wolfram Nordsieck provides a database about parliamentary elections in Europe since 1945 plus information about parties and electoral systems.

Variety of useful shared datasets covering regime types, elections, civil liberties, and much more.

Election laws and results for 12 countries of post-Communist Europe since 1990.

Extensive directory to useful elections data and websites.

Data from CSD-sponsored projects measuring political participation and attitudes.

Links from the U of MI's library relevant to elections data.

Data on historical roll-call voting of legislatures from around the world.