Introduction to Comparative Politics: Conflict

Ethnic fractionalization. Easterly and Levine's/Worldbank frequently cited dataset covering 160 countries.

Scroll down to paper: Aid, Policies and Growth, with David Dollar. American Economic Review 90(4), 2000, 847-68 -- Dataset for this paper includes measures for institutional quality, ethnic fractionalization, government consumption of GDP, more.

Links to datasets produced by the CSP to research conflict including Forcibly Displaced Populations, Major Episodes of Political Violence, Political Instability Task Force-State Failure Problem Set, Polity IV, and Coups d'Etats.

Data on alliances, militarization, disputes, and other indicators of conflict since 1816.

Documents archived by the Library of Congress related to the Darfur Crisis.

Data concerns policies, aid, and development. Includes ethnic fractionalization index.

Compiles data and microdata on political motivated conflict around the world.

Macro time series, micro time series, government finance, and social indicators including ethnic fractionalization, party fractionalization, regime changes, and fixed factors. 1960-99. Easterly and Yu.

Created by Swarthmore, covers hundreds of cases of nonviolent action throughout the world.

Ranks 144 countries against 23 indicators ranging from military expenditure to respect for human rights.

From the Department of Homeland Security and the University of Maryland, searchable database of over 100,000 terrorism incidents between 1970 and 2011.

Analyzes UN security practices.

"Uses the automated coding of English-language news reports to generate political event data focusing on the Middle East, Balkans, and West Africa."

Tracks 283 politically-active non-state ethnic groups throughout the world from 1945 to the present. Based out of University of Maryland.

Collection of datasets from scholar Paul Hensel specifically relevant to conflict.

From the Kroc Institute for International Peace Studies, visualization of peace agreements plus comprehensive data on peace accords.

Surveyed people in 17 countries, 12 that recently experienced conflict, on their views on war and war experiences ('98-'99).

Measures political and economic risk associated with a country.

Measures state-sanctioned torture, killings, disappearances, and imprisonment; yearly report (1976-2006) developed by Mark Gibney at University of North Carolina.

Journal of Peace Research replication data plus other datasets such as the Centre for the Study of Civil War data and Small Arms Trade database.

Data on all international transfers of seven categories of major weapons from 1950 to present.

600 peace operations between 2000-2010. Continuously updated.

Peace Agreements collection, Truth Commissions collection, and Oral Histories Project Collection. Full text of peace agreements since 1989, decrees establishing truth commissions, and interviews with stability workers.

Datasets on armed conflict between states, government against civilians, peace agreements between parties, and more.