Introduction to Comparative Politics: Trade

The Organization of American State's Foreign Trade Information System. Locate the full text of trade agreements in force for OAS states as well as other trade-related information.

This international trade database from the United Nations provides export and import statistics by country, by commodity, by year to 1962. Register for access. Not all data is available for free but much of it is.

A table of international trade statistics for 1900 to 1960, created by the UN (preliminary only).

Trade data from the United Nations Conference on Trade and Development presented in tables, reports, and charts. Time series from 1988-2006.

Tariff and trade flow information for more than 160 countries.

A comprehensive collection of data from the World Bank on trade barriers and related topics: trends in average applied tariff rates in developing and industrial countries, 1981-2006; FDI and its share of GDP, 2000-2006; and much more.

The database for the WTO's official documentation, including agreements.

Locate trade and tariff statistics including: WTO's publication, Annual Trade Statistics (1998-present); comprehensive tariff data for all members; current trade statistics in database form; World Tariff Profiles.

From the IMF, tables with current data on the exports from and imports to their most important trading partners for 158 countries. (Note: always use this link - it's nearly impossible to find this page via Google).

From the World Bank and the Center for International Business at Tuck Business School, the GPTAD provides information on preferential trade agreements around the world including those not notified to the WTO.

Links to variety of (very useful) data and publication sources on trade from the World Bank.

Database of tariffs and trade policies.

Measures economic, social, political dimensions of globalization across 158 countries, 1970-2007. From Alex Dreher.

Historical financial time series, some dating back to 1265. Includes datasets in 10 topics: Asset Allocation, Commodities, Economic, Equity, Exchange Rates, Fixed Income, Development, Government and Debt, International Trade, and National Accounts. Carleton subscribes.

"The FDI database presents aggregate inflows, outflows, inward stocks and outward stocks of foreign direct investment (FDI) for 196 reporting economies in an interactive format."

Country Fact Sheets contain most relevant indicators about FDI for 188 economies; FDI in Brief has information about flows and stocks for 80 economies; FDI in Profile has information about flows and stocks for 112 economies.

1000+ economic, social, environmental, and governance time series indicators (1960-current) across 200 countries and 18 country groups.

Bilateral trade figures according to a standard industrial classification system. 26 industrial sectors across 151 countries, 1980 - 2006.

Trade measures implement by WTO members and observers since October 2008.

From the U.S. Census Bureau. Includes statistics such as top trading partners (1998-present); trade in goods by country (1985-present); historical series such as U.S. International Trade in Goods, (annual, 1960-present); U.S. Imports of Crude Oil (monthly, 1973-present); and much more.

A monthly newsletter published by the Office of Public Affairs of the U.S. Department of Commerce’s International Trade Administration.

Locate information on U.S. trade agreements in force. Search for trade policy and agreements by country, region, or sector.

Hosts a database of U.S. trade agreements: search by agremeent or view a list of all agreements by country. Also view trade policy review reports by country.

This court hears matters pertaining to the U.S. and trade. Locate slip opinions from 1999-present. Also locate rules and procedures.

Information on U.S. free trade agreements.

Information on the U.S. tariffs by country, by product.

Search and view agricultural trade agreements; also view general trade trends and data.

National trade data and state export data, available through a data query tool: retrieve, visualize, analyze, and customize the data.