Good Places to Start
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowDesigned for college students, this scholarly resource contains indexing and abstracts for more than 13,780 journals, with full-text for more than 9,000 of those titles.
- CQ Weekly This link opens in a new windowCQ Weekly reports on the world’s most powerful legislative body completely and accurately every week. The CQ news team covers virtually every act of Congress, delivering nonpartisan news and analysis unavailable anywhere else.
- Historical New York Times This link opens in a new windowIncludes all the articles published since the first issue of the paper in 1851 to 2019. In addition to news stories, includes editorials, letters to the editor, obituaries, birth and marriage announcements, photos, and advertisements. Recent issues are available on the NexisUni database.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowProvides image and full text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in several social sciences and humanities disciplines including African-American Studies, Anthropology, Economics, Education, Literature, Philosophy, Political Science, and Sociology. The most current issues (typically from the past three to five years) are not included.
- Newspaper Source This link opens in a new windowProvides cover-to-cover full-text for more than 40 U.S. and international newspapers, selective full-text for more than 330 regional U.S. newspapers, and full-text television and radio news transcripts from CBS News, CNN, CNN International, FOX News, NPR, etc.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowCovers a wide range of news, business, legal, medical, and reference information, most available in full text. Includes newspapers, magazines, wire services, federal and state court opinions, federal and state statutes, federal regulations, and SEC filings. Most entries are full-text, some updated daily.
Additional Resources
- Annual Review of Political Science This link opens in a new windowSynthesizes and covers significant developments in the field of political science in one annual volume. Search or browse. Full-text access from 1998 to present.
Review articles provide an overview of a topic, highlighting the major work and providing many key references.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowProvides full-text and abstracts to over 2,500 journals published by Elsevier and its affiliates. ScienceDirect includes extensive coverage in science, engineering and medicine, plus many core journals in business, social sciences and humanities.