Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Many international organizations and some governments produce reports on the human rights conditions in various countries.
The Universal Declaration of Human Rights adopted by the U.N. General Assembly in 1948 lists the fundamental human rights that are common to all people. In addition, there are eight main U.N. human rights treaties covering specific aspects of human rights.
Theoretically, there is a dialogue between the treaty body and the individual state parties to the U.N. treaties. These documents are an important part of human rights research and are available in many places. Below are some sources for locating these types of documents, plus additional sources for human rights treaties.
This well organized site provides links to reports, concluding observations, ratifications, reservations and declarations, jurisprudence and other types of documents on the major U.N. human rights treaties. It is searchable by type of document, country or subject matter.
Human rights-related US government official remarks, statements, reports, and press releases of the president, secretary of state, ambassadors, diplomats, and other US government officials and representatives.
International Human Rights
A great starting point for research to access primary and secondary source material. Links to full text are provided along with complete citations. From the American Society of International Law.
International Human Rights Instruments (U.N.)
Includes text of the International Bill of Human Rights, the nine core international human rights treaties, and many other universal instruments relating to human rights.
Office of the High Commission for Human Rights (U.N.)
An official United Nations site that provides access to treaties, state reports, comments, and most other documentation.
United Nations Treaty Body Database
Searchable by country, U.N. document symbol, treaty, and type of document. This can be handy when you want to locate reports or documents from many different treaties, but all related to one country.
University of Minnesota Human Rights Library
Collection of the most important international human rights treaties and other instruments.
Women's Human Rights Resources
The following links are representative of the many online resources devoted to women's human rights.