eReference Titles
- A Dictionary of Political BiographyThis dictionary covers all the major figures in world politics of the twentieth century. Authoritative and wide-ranging, it describes and assesses the lives of more than 1,000 men and women who have shaped political events across the world.
- JuriglobeJuriGlobe is a research group formed by professors from the Faculty of Law of the University of Ottawa, which focuses on the development of a multilingual information data bank, accessible to all on the internet, containing general information relating to the different legal systems in the world, to the different official languages and to some of the most important international commercial conventions, as well as other multilateral commercial tools.
- Oxford Companion to Politics of the WorldThis major new edition of The Oxford Companion to Politics of the World reflects the changing world with a reassessment of many of the core themes of the previous edition, and new articles on the people, concepts, and events that have shaped the world since 1993.
- The Concise Oxford Dictionary of PoliticsWritten by a leading team of political scientists, it embraces the whole multi-disciplinary spectrum of political theory including political thinkers, history, institutions, and concepts, as well as notable current affairs that have shaped attitudes to politics.
- Global Legal MonitorThe Global Legal Monitor is an online publication from the Law Library of Congress covering legal news and developments worldwide. It is updated frequently and draws on information from official national legal publications, and reliable press sources. You can find previous news by searching the Global Legal Monitor.
- Europa World (Europa World Yearbook Online) This link opens in a new windowIn-depth country profiles (summary of history, current events, government directory, statistics, and more). Choose countries from the drop-down menu at the top.
Electronic Reference
- Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new windowSearch individually or simultaneously dozens of Oxford electronic reference books.
Hard Copy Reference Titles
A Dictionary of 20th Century Communism
Reference HX40 .D5913 2010
The book explains what communism was, the forms it took, and the enormous role it played in world history from the Russian Revolution through the collapse of the Soviet Union and beyond. It examines the political, intellectual, and social influences of communism around the globe, and features contributions from an international team of 160 scholars.
The Oxford Companion to Politics of the World
Reference JA61 .O95 2001
The contributors discuss nearly every nation in the world, including extensive information on institutions, political parties, leaders, and the sources of political mobilization and conflict.
Historical Dictionary of Environmentalism
Reference GE195 .D358 2009
Review of organizations, people, concepts, issues, events, and other areas relating to the environment. Includes concise entries on key countries, international agreements, environmental concepts, and more.
American Conservatism: An Encyclopedia
Reference E743 .A44 2006
Many the articles are biographical. Other entries are political or philosophical and cover topics such as: Abortion, Affirmative action, Diversity, Individualism, and Protectionism, as seen from the conservative point of view.
Making Sense of American Liberalism
Book Stacks JC574.2.U6 M24 2012
A collection of essays that pulls together a roster of prominent historians and younger scholars to illuminate our understanding of postwar liberalism.
The Making of Modern Liberalism
Book Stacks JC574 .R93 2012
The Making of Modern Liberalism is a look at the origins and nature of liberalism from the Enlightenment through the triumphs and setbacks during the twentieth century and beyond.
Reference JA51.S7 2013 Older editions in the book stacks.
Politics, cultures, and economies of the world.