Website: Health and Medical Studies: Web Resources

Professional Organizations

Blogs

Health & Medicine Data & Statistics

Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista.com provides companies, business customers, research institutions, and the academic community with direct access to quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas of interest or markets.
Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
Provides quick and easy access to hundreds of thousands of built-in data indicators related to demography, economy, health, politics, environment, crime and more.

American Community Survey (ACS) Data
Find statistics describing the U.S. population, including those relating to age, aging, disability, income, poverty, language, origins, race and ethnicity, and relationships
more...less...
Before starting your search, make use of the 'Guidance for Data Users' pages
U.S. Census Bureau Data
Health Data from the U.S. government. Find statistics on a wide variety of health topics for the population and economy, including disability, fertility, health care access and insurance, health care expenses, investments, economics, HIV/AIDS.
National Center for Health Statistics (CDC)
CDC is the nation’s leading science-based, data-driven, service organization that protects the public’s health.
Health & Medical Care Archive
The Health and Medical Care Archive (HMCA) is the data archive of the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation (RWJF), the largest philanthropy devoted exclusively to health and health care in the United States.
CDC's Wonder
WONDER online databases utilize an ad-hoc query system for the analysis of public health data
FastStats
An index for quick and easy access to selected statistics on a variety of health topics, the latest data in reports, databases, and other resources, and additional data and tools.
MedlinePlus: Health Statistics
Health statistics are numbers that summarize information related to health. Researchers and experts from government, private, and non-profit agencies and organizations collect health statistics. They use the statistics to learn about public health and health care.
State Health Facts
More than 800 up-to-date health indicators at the state level can be mapped, ranked, and downloaded.

HMS Sites

Health & Medicine Research Guides
A compilation of various health and medical resources from the Library of Congress
National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health (NCCIH)
A national agency for scientific research on the diverse medical and health care systems, practices, and products that are not generally considered part of conventional medicine. Backed by the federal government
Health.gov
From The Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion (ODPHP): We set priorities for improving the nation’s health, provide science-based nutrition and physical activity guidance, and create tools and resources to help people make healthy choices
KSR Evidence
A database of systematic reviews in healthcare with the aim to include all systematic reviews, meta-analyses, and health technology assessment reports published since 2015 and provides a critical appraisal with a short, accessible bottom line for 28,160 reviews.
Global Wellness Institute
A nonprofit organization with a mission to empower wellness worldwide by educating the public about preventative health and wellness
The National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health (NIOSH)
a research agency focused on the study of worker safety and health, and empowering employers and workers to create safe and healthy workplaces
National Institute on Drug Abuse (NIDA)
NIDA is the lead federal agency supporting scientific research on drug use and addiction
ClinicalTrials.gov
ClinicalTrials.gov is a database of privately and publicly funded clinical studies conducted around the world.
World Health Organization (WHO)
WHO is the United Nations agency dedicated to global health and safety. The Organization connects nations, partners and communities to promote health and serve the vulnerable
Mayo Clinic
A nonprofit American academic medical center focused on integrated health care, education, and research.
Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System
The nation’s premier system of health-related telephone surveys that collect state data about U.S. residents regarding their health-related risk behaviors, chronic health conditions, and use of preventive services
Healthcare.gov
Maintained by the Department of Health and Human Services, this website includes information on heathcare laws and its implementation. Additionally, there are tools for finding insurance options and comparing hospitals.
Global Health Delivery Project
A joint initiative of Brigham and Women’s Hospital and Harvard University researching and writing case studies about what works in health care delivery. The mission is to create a global network of professionals dedicated to improving the delivery of value-based health care
List of Open Access Clinical Tools
From John Hopkins
Understanding Medical Words
Tutorial from the National Library of Medicine
Global Library of Women's Medicine (GLOWM)
The Global Library of Women's Medicine is a unique web library incorporating a vast range of detailed clinical information across the whole field of women's medicine. GLOWM is a major not-for-profit initiative to provide medical professionals worldwide with free and universal access to a vast and constantly updated, peer-reviewed resource of clinical information and guidance.

Current Health and Medicine Issues

Topic: Health & Medicine
From the Library Database: Opposing Viewpoints
Topic: Health
Reports on various health subtopics from CQ Researcher-a weekly publication that covers current and controversial issues with complete summaries, timelines and bibliographies
NIH MedlinePlus Magazine
Keep up with the latest health topics from the National Institutes of Health
New York Times: Health
from the New York Times. For access:
-->library.centre.edu
-->Click 'Find'
-->Click 'Newspapers'
-->In 'Quick Links' choose 'New York Times'

Week Delay for access
BBC News: Health
No access through Centre

Subtopics in Health Services

Health Policies and Laws

Heath and Human Services
From U.S. Department of HHS. Laws and Regulations concerning the public's health

HeinOnline Academic This link opens in a new window
HeinOnline Academic includes more than 100 million pages of multidisciplinary content in more than 100 subject areas, including history, political science, criminal justice, religious studies, international relations, women’s studies, pre-law, and many more. HeinOnline provides access to 300+ years of information on political development and the complete history of the creation of government and legal systems around the world.

Alternative Medicine

List of Herbs and Supplements
from Medline Plus. Browse dietary supplements and herbal remedies to learn about their effectiveness, usual dosage, and drug interactions.
Native American Ethnobotany
A Database of Foods, Drugs, Dyes and Fibers of Native American Peoples, Derived from Plants.
Complimentary and Alternative Medicine (CAM)
Complimentary and Alternative Medicine (CAM) is a subset of the National Library of Medicine's Medline database indexes scientific journal literature on complementary and alternative medicine from the late 1940's to the present.

Health and Medical Studies: Web Resources

Professional Organizations

Blogs

Health & Medicine Data & Statistics

HMS Sites

Current Health and Medicine Issues

Subtopics in Health Services

Health Policies and Laws

Alternative Medicine

Subtopics in Medicine