MAT 130

A list of a topic-centric public data sources in high quality. They are collected and tidied from blogs, answers, and user responses.

Public datasets.

An non-profit that calls itself a “fact tank”.

"Google helps make large datasets available through this specialized search engine. You can visualize the data, create customized datasets and share them. With a Google account you can keep track of your favorite datasets" (Google).

Harvard Dataverse is a repository for a wide variety of research data.

Public datasets submitted by the public. Large diversity of topics.

An open, free-to-use research data repository

“Pew Research Center makes its data available to the public for secondary analysis after a period of time.” (Pew)

This site is a "global registry of research data repositories that covers research data repositories from different academic disciplines. It presents repositories for the permanent storage and access of data sets to researchers, funding bodies, publishers and scholarly institutions." (R3data) There is a search box for keyword searches, but you can also browse by subject, content type and country.

Access demographic and economic data from the U.S. Census Bureau.

Visual data sets from the Department of Engineering Science at Oxford University.

The Facts & Statistics section is useful for exploratory topic searches. This database includes a wide range of datasets.

Access the materials of the Library of Congress.

The Books API provides information about book reviews and The New York Times Best Sellers lists.

This exposes the metadata that members deposit with Crossref when they register. It includes: bibliographic metadata, funding data, license information, full-text links, ORCID iDs, abstracts, and Crossmark updates are in members’ metadata. You can search, facet, filter, or sample metadata from thousands of members; the results are returned in JSON.

Get information and images about dogs.

Retrieve up-to-date sports information from ESPN for a variety of sports.

Offers a wide variety of space and science data.

API github page for the United States National Archives.

Retrieve a variety of weather data from all over the world.

All things Pokemon!

A museum in Taipei, Taiwan with a permanent collection of nearly 700,000 pieces of Chinese artifacts and artworks

Source of economic data and statistics on the U.S. and international economy.

Data from the U.S. federal agency responsible for measuring labor market activity, working conditions, and price changes in the economy.

Climate and environmental data.

Contains many time-series data sets covering U.S. and international money, banking, business and employment.

The International Monetary Fund (IMF) is an organization of 190 countries. This site houses free financial global data.

MarketWatch has up to the minute data on the stock markets worldwide. It allows for CSV downloads of historic data.

“Time-series” numerical data for economics, finance, markets & energy. From NASDAQ

The index of consumer sentiment and consumer expectations, and current economic conditions. Data going back 60 years.

The U.S. Energy Information Administration (EIA) collects, analyzes, and disseminates independent and impartial energy information to promote sound policymaking, efficient markets, and public understanding of energy and its interaction with the economy and the environment.

Provided by the National Center for Education Statistics

The National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) is the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education in the U.S. and other nations. NCES is located within the U.S. Department of Education and the Institute of Education Sciences. NCES fulfills a Congressional mandate to collect, collate, analyze, and report complete statistics on the condition of American education; conduct and publish reports; and review and report on education activities internationally.

The U.S. National Science Foundation/National Center for Science and Engineering Statistics data site allows you to select data, create a table and export it as a CSV. Data relates to education, research & development, and fields of study in science and engineering.

“The ARDA Data Archive is a collection of surveys, polls, and other data submitted by researchers and made available online by the ARDA.” (ARDA)

Data on the Catholic Dioceses in the United States.

"The World Religion Project (WRP) aims to provide detailed information about religious adherence worldwide from 1945 to 2010" (World Religion Data).

Repository for publication-related High-Energy Physics data.

A data repository with a variety of physics data.

An international network and data infrastructure funded by the world's governments and aimed at providing anyone, anywhere, open access to data about all types of life on Earth.

The most complete authoritative list of the world's species - maintained by hundreds of global taxonomists.

A site dedicated to facilitating and enhancing bird conservation with data.

Provides free access to biological, physical and socioeconomic geospatial data and maps, along with tools to create custom visualizations, drawings and analyses.

"To serve the research needs of social scientists, teachers, students, policy makers and journalists, the ANES produces high quality data from its own surveys on voting, public opinion, and political participation. Central to this mission is the active involvement of the ANES research community in all phases of the project."

CrisisLex.org is a repository of crisis-related social media data and tools. Currently it includes collections of crisis data and a lexicon of crisis terms. It also includes tools to help you create these collections and lexicons.

"D-PLACE, or the Database of Places, Language, Culture, and Environment, is an attempt to bring together the dispersed corpus of information describing human cultural diversity. It aims to make it easy for individuals to contrast their own cultural practices with those of other societies, and to consider the factors that may underlie cultural similarities and differences." (D-Place)

"We try to document all deaths that happen when police are present or that are caused by police: on-duty, off-duty, criminal, line-of-duty, local, federal, intentional, accidental, and suicide."

The HDI was created to emphasize that people and their capabilities should be the ultimate criteria for assessing the development of a country, not economic growth alone. The HDI can also be used to question national policy choices, asking how two countries with the same level of GNI per capita can end up with different human development outcomes. These contrasts can stimulate debate about government policy priorities.
The Human Development Index (HDI) is a summary measure of average achievement in key dimensions of human development: a long and healthy life, being knowledgeable and have a decent standard of living.

Provides access to and archives of social science data. Areas of research range from crime, to economic indicators, to consumer behavior, and health information. Members of the Centre College community are eligible to access and download the data.

Data on crime and justice.

“Our mission is to collect, preserve, and disseminate public opinion data; to serve as a resource to help improve the practice of survey research; and to broaden the understanding of public opinion through the use of survey data in the United States and around the world.” (Roper) It includes a Latin American Database.

Focusing on human interactions in the environment, SEDAC has as its mission to develop and operate applications that support the integration of socioeconomic and earth science data and to serve as an "Information Gateway" between earth sciences and social sciences.

“The World Values Survey is a global network of social scientists studying changing values and their impact on social and political life, led by an international team of scholars, with the WVS Association and WVSA Secretariat headquartered in Vienna, Austria.” (World Values Survey)