Website: EDU 265 Education Policy and Social Change: Finding Sources

NGO Reports & Policy briefs

Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO)
Includes working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, books, journals, policy briefs, and proceedings from conferences.

Think Tank Search
From Harvard's Kennedy School of Government library, this link is a custom Google search + list of hundreds of US and international think tanks affiliated with universities, governments, advocacy groups, foundations, non-governmental organizations, and businesses that generate public policy research, analysis, and activity.
Planipolis
A portal of education plans and policies from UNESCO member states.

CQ Weekly
In-depth coverage of the U.S. Congress: status of bills, votes and amendments, floor and committee activity, and backroom maneuvering.

WHO Education Policy Briefs
Searching the World Health Organization site with the terms 'Education policy brief'

Global news sources

Global Newsstream
Global Newsstream enables users to search the most recent global news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in active full- text format.

View Title List
World News Digest
(off-campus access: https://ezproxy.centre.edu/login?url=https://online.infobaselearning.com/Direct.aspx?aid=95600&pid=WE56) World News Digest is a go-to resource for context and background on key issues and events in the news from 1940-present. In addition to news articles, WND aggregates social media feeds and includes editorial cartoons, historical documents infographics and statistics. Hundreds of news sources, governments, and organizations—including ABC News, CBS News, CNN, Fox News, NBC News, NPR, and the parliaments of Canada and Australia—rely on World News Digest for a broader view of the issues that matter today.
Alt-Press Watch
Newspapers, magazines and journals from alternative and independent presses. This interdisciplinary resource provides a valuable source of viewpoints and perspectives to complement and challenge mainstream media coverage.
Nexis Uni
Covers a wide range of news, business, legal, medical, and reference information, most available in full text. Includes newspapers, magazines, wire services, federal and state court opinions, federal and state statutes, federal regulations, and SEC filings. Most entries are full-text, some updated daily.

Search FAQ

Top 10 Features

Reliable education trade journals

Education Week
Since 1981, Education Week has been America's most trusted resource for K-12 education news and information. 1.6+ million readers. National Coverage. From teachers to principals and district leaders across the country. Education Week's diverse audience turns to us for the most up-to-date information on K-12 education in the U.S., as well as innovative, high-value tools and solutions

International Journal of Global Education
The International Journal of Global Education provides educational professionals with the knowledge and information that can assist them in contributing to the critical analysis and the implementation of globalization in education. Topics covered include: education and multicultural society, human rights in education, diversity in education, migration and indigenous minority issues, language policy, mother tongue education, curriculum and classroom practices in regional and national educational systems, and school climates.

Reliable websites

UNESCO Education
Education is at the heart of UNESCO’s mission to build peace, eradicate poverty and drive sustainable development. UNESCO is the only United Nations agency with a mandate to cover all aspects of education. It has been entrusted to lead the Global Education 2030 Agenda through Sustainable Development Goal 4.
OECD Education Resources
The OECD's work on education helps individuals and nations to identify and develop the knowledge and skills that drive better jobs and better lives, generate prosperity and promote social inclusion.
African Development Bank (AfDB)
AfDB contributes to international efforts to provide a quality education to all children by supporting its regional member countries in building schools, training teachers and providing learning materials and equipment.
Asian Development Bank (ADB)
The educational priorities of ADB, an international development finance institution, include: quality, access, and completion of education; teacher education; curriculum and education materials development; inclusive education; and public and private partnerships.
Interamerican Development Bank (IDB)
Through its Education Division, the IDB works together with 26 borrower countries in Latin America and the Caribbean to focus on three main areas: early childhood development, school-to-work transition, and teacher quality.
Educational Development Center
An international non-profit dedicated to enhancing learning and promoting health.
IREX
An international nonprofit organization working to extend access to quality education for all.

EDU 265 Education Policy and Social Change: Finding Sources

NGO Reports & Policy briefs

Global news sources

Reliable education trade journals

Reliable websites

Peer-reviewed articles