Physics and Astronomy: Find Reference Sources

With more than 300 entries covering topics from acid rain to zonal circulation, the Encyclopedia of Climate and Weather is the most comprehensive, reference work available on the past, present, and future of the global environment.

In two volumes, 500 experts offer a comprehensive and topical account of physics and the physical world. The volumes comprise more than 500 articles, which have either been completely updated or are altogether new, covering the latest terminology and techniques in physics, including atomic trapping and cooling, biophotonics, econophysics, the formation of stars and planets, quantum communication, space science and technology, and traffic flow.

Provides a framework for understanding the origin and evolution of the solar system, historical discoveries, and details about planetary bodies and how they interact--with an astounding breadth of content and breathtaking visual impact.

This supplement to the "Macmillan Encyclopedia of Physics presents the most recent data on particle physics, a field that has seen many important breakthroughs since the publication of the parent set in 1996. The work reviews all observed and theoretical particles known to date, retracing the history of each particle's discovery and function and covers current research; practical applications both hypothetical and actual; and provides biographical entries of significant scientists working in the field.

his 1985 text develops the theory of angular momentum from the viewpoint of a fundamental symmetry in nature and shows how this concept relates to applied areas of research in modern quantum physics

this work covers all the commonly encountered terms and concepts in physics, as well as key terms from maths, astrophysics and physical chemistry.

It contains over 3,800 entries covering all commonly encountered physics terms and concepts, as well as terms from the related fields of astronomy, astrophysics, and physical chemistry.

This dictionary contains over 2000 entries dealing with the terms used in atomic and nuclear physics. The entries are written in a concise style, with cross-references. The work covers modern research and discoveries in particle physics as well as questions of philosophical interest and applications for nuclear physics in nuclear energy and nuclear medicine.