Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
A list of e-journals in astronomy available to Centre College users.
A list of e-journals in physics available to Centre College users.
Reading a Scientific Paper
A quick tutorial on reading and understanding a scientific paper, created and shared by Dr. Jennifer Raff, a research fellow in Anthropology at the University of Texas-Austin.
Find and Use Databases
When looking for articles on your topic, the best way to start is to search within article databases. The Library has access to dozens of databases, which in turn index thousands of periodicals. Many, but not all, contain the full-text of articles.
To find the appropriate databases, go to the Library website.
Once in a database, start with a KEYWORD search using words relevant to your topic. When you see an article that looks interesting, click on the title to see the complete citation. If there are SUBJECT TERMS or DESCRIPTORS, click on those that seem related to your topic to get other articles on the subject.
- Not all databases have the full-text of articles. Some only provide citations and abstracts. Use the Look for full text with LinkSource icon to see if the full-text of the article is available in another database.
- If the Library doesn't have access to a journal, you can obtain the article through interlibrary loan.
- Almost all Library databases can be accessed from off-campus. The easiest way to do this is to use links from the Library website. You will then be prompted for your Centre ID and password to authenticate yourself as an authorized user.
Best Places to Start
Physical Review Online Archive (PROLA) This link opens in a new window
The American Physical Society's online archive for Physical Review Letters, Reviews of Modern Physics, and Physical Review A-E. It contains all APS journal articles published from 1893. Each January, another year is added to the archive.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text and abstracts to over 2,500 journals published by Elsevier and its affiliates. ScienceDirect includes extensive coverage in science, engineering and medicine, plus many core journals in business, social sciences and humanities.
Springer Journals This link opens in a new window
Provides access to more than 2,000 STEM journals.
Find More Articles
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Designed for college students, this scholarly resource contains indexing and abstracts for more than 13,780 journals, with full-text for more than 9,000 of those titles.
Annual Reviews Online This link opens in a new window
A searchable database that provides full-text access to critical review articles that synthesize the primary contributions in the areas of biomedical, physical, and social sciences. Journals the Centre Community has access to:
Annual Review of Anthropology (Coverage Jan 1996 - Current volume)
Annual Review of Astronomy and Astrophysics (Coverage Jan 1996 - Dec 2018)
Annual Review of Biochemistry (Coverage Jan 1997 - Current volume)
Annual Review of Ecology, Evolution, and Systematics (Coverage Jan 1996 - Current volume)
Annual Review of Environment and Resources (Coverage Jan 1996 - Current volume)
Annual Review of Genetics (Coverage Jan 1996 - Dec 2011; Jan 2013 - Current volume)
Annual Review of Genomics and Human Genetics (Coverage Jan 2012 - Dec 2012)
Annual Review of Microbiology (Coverage Jan 1996 - Dec 2010; Jan 2012 - Current volume)
Annual Review of Nuclear and Particle Science (Coverage Jan 1996 - Dec 2010; Jan 2012 - Dec 2018)
Annual Review of Nutrition (Coverage Jan 2008 - Dec 2009; Jan 2011 - Current volume)
Annual Review of Pharmacology and Toxicology (Coverage Jan 1997 - Dec 2009; Jan 2011 - Current volume)
Annual Review of Physical Chemistry (Coverage Jan 1996 - Current volume)
Annual Review of Physiology (Coverage Jan 1997 - Current volume)
Annual Review of Plant Biology (Coverage Jan 1996 - Current volume)
Annual Review of Political Science (Coverage Jan 1998 - Current volume)
Annual Review of Psychology (Coverage Jan 1996 - Current volume)
Annual Review of Sociology (Coverage Jan 1996 - 31 Dec 2018; Jan 2020 - Current volume)
arXiv.org This link opens in a new window
An online archive of full-text pre-prints hosted at Cornell University. This repository covers all areas physics, as well as astronomy, mathematics, nonlinear science, computer science, quantitative biology, and statistics.
Astrophysics Data System This link opens in a new window
Full-text citations and abstracts of articles in astronomy and physics, with links to published version and to pre-prints.
CERN Document Server This link opens in a new window
The CERN (European Organization for Nuclear Research) document server allows searching (and access) to pre-prints, as well as theses, reports, published articles, archives, and more. Allows multi-search with CERN Indico, KISS, and SPIRES.
Directory of Open Access Journals This link opens in a new window
Directory of Open Access Journals is a service that provides access to quality controlled Open Access Journals. The DOAJ aims to be comprehensive and cover all open access scientific and scholarly journals that use an appropriate quality control system, and will not be limited to particular languages or subject areas. The aim of the Directory is to increase the visibility and ease of use of open access scientific and scholarly journals thereby promoting their increased usage and impact.
IOPscience This link opens in a new window
Online service for journal content published by the Institute of Physics. It contains more than 300,000 articles, from 1874 to the present day. As well as regular peer-reviewed content from IOP Publishing journals, users can also find pre-prints from eprintweb.org (based on the arXiv.org at Cornell University), and editorials and news from IOP community websites.
Nature Online This link opens in a new window
Nature is a weekly international journal publishing news articles and peer-reviewed research in all fields of science and technology. It is now available as an online resource, with full-text access to the previous four years of subscription material. To access the full text of articles more than four years old, print copies of those journals are available in Bound Periodicals and Storage.
Science Magazine This link opens in a new window
Science is a peer-reviewed journal that offers scientific news and commentary, along with original research. Our online subscription provides access to the Science magazine issues from 1997-present. Ask a librarian for older issues, which Centre stores in print format.
Scitation (American Institute of Physics) This link opens in a new window
Physics and engineering journals from the American Institute of Physics (AIP) and other publishers. NOTE: Centre College users will only have access to the full-text of journals to which the library subscribes.