Music: Internet Resources

From Society for Music Theory. A peer-reviewed open-access electronic journal of research and scholarship in music theory, music analysis, and related disciplines.

Hosted By BYU, MusRef is a Guide to More than 13,000 Print and Internet Music Reference Resources. MusRef Bibliographies is a series of in-depth compilations of research devoted to narrowly defined music topics that are not covered elsewhere.

The Bach Bibliography contains records of international literature and scholarship relating to J. S. Bach. The database allows users to search through approximately 77,000 titles (as of December 2020).
Comprising a research institute, a library, a museum, and an events department, it occupies the historic Bose House complex at St Thomas's Square, opposite the church where J. S. Bach served as cantor for 27 years. With its unmatched collections and manifold activities the Bach Archive contributes significantly to the time-honoured image of Leipzig as a »city of music« in general and a »Bach city« in particular. The Bach Archive Foundation is a non-profit corporation which receives its basic financial support from the City of Leipzig, the Federal Republic of Germany, and the Free State of Saxony. It is directed by an Executive Board, overseen by a Board of Trustees, and advised by a Board of Curators.

Provides access to digitized works in Beethoven's catalog as well as sketches and copies.

Aims to preserve the personal / official websites belonging to notable 20th century composers.

The Digital Mozart Edition (DME) aims to make the oeuvre of Wolfgang Amadé Mozart (1756–1791) accessible in digital formats. Access is free for everyone for academic, private and educational purposes.

The world’s largest reference archive of texts and translations of art songs and choral works.

A bibliography of books, articles, and theses that describe uses of existing music.

History of Jazz music, styles and musicians featuring photo gallery, timeline, festivals, webcasts, piano & guitar chords, scales and online lessons.

Facilitates the discovery of music, dance, theatre and opera iconography.

Part of the Library of Congress' American Memory historical collections.
This recording trip is an ethnographic field collection that includes nearly 700 sound recordings, as well as fieldnotes, dust jackets, and other manuscripts documenting a three-month, 6,502-mile trip through the southern United States. Beginning in Port Aransas, Texas, on March 31, 1939, and ending at the Library of Congress on June 14, 1939, John Avery Lomax, Honorary Consultant and Curator of the Archive of American Folk Song (now the American Folklife Center archive), and his wife, Ruby Terrill Lomax, recorded approximately 25 hours of folk music from more than 300 performers. These recordings represent a broad spectrum of traditional musical styles, including ballads, blues, children's songs, cowboy songs, fiddle tunes, field hollers, lullabies, play-party songs, religious dramas, spirituals, and work songs.

One of the largest collections of sheet music in any library in the United States. The sheet music, primarily vocal music of American imprint, dates from the 18th century to the present day, with the largest concentration of titles in the period 1840-1950.

Includes materials covering a range of African American musical idioms and cultural expressions primarily from the post-World War II era.

A living register of books, articles, documentaries, series, podcasts and more about the Black origins of traditional and popular music dating from the 17th century to present day. Resources are organized by chronology, genre and/or geography for ease of browsing.

A project of the Rachel Barton Pine Foundation, and includes music and resources related to both living and historical Black composers.

Compiled from the Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México. Catalog of composers works organized by genre. Select a call number(signatura) to view more information about the work.

List of composers organized by last name that links to works available on the Theodore Front website. Can be organized into instrumentation. Dedicated list of Latin American women composers.

The American Musicological Society is dedicated to advancing the study and teaching of music through a broad array of programs, including grants, fellowships, awards, publications, and events.