Website: Economics: U.S. Economic Indicators

U.S. Government Sites

Bureau of Economic Analysis This link opens in a new window
Data on U.S. domestic production, consumption, and investment, of exports and imports, and of national and domestic income and saving.

Many U.S. agencies generate their own data and statistics. In addition to the links below, there are more than one hundred federal agencies with statistical programs.

Bureau of Labor Statistics This link opens in a new window
Information on employment, inflation and prices, consumer spending, and industry productivity.
Census Bureau This link opens in a new window
U.S. Economic Indicators - each indicator is released on a specific schedule, see the Economic Indicator Calendar
Department of Agriculture This link opens in a new window
Data on Farm Practices & Management; Food Sector; Natural Resources & Environment; Rural Economy; Trade & International Markets.
Department of Housing and Urban Development This link opens in a new window
Information on housing communities and urban markets.
Economics and Statistics Administration This link opens in a new window
Common economic indicators.
Federal Reserve This link opens in a new window
Statistics and historical data on the U.S. monetary and financial system.
Internal Revenue Service This link opens in a new window
A wide range of tables, articles, and data that describe and measure elements of the U.S. tax system.
Office of Management and Budget This link opens in a new window
Historical Tables provides data on budget receipts, outlays, surpluses or deficits, Federal debt, and Federal employment over an extended time period, generally from 1940 or earlier to 2011 or 2015.

U.S. Economy and Industry

Agricultural Statistics This link opens in a new window
Agricultural production, supplies, consumption, facilities, costs, and returns.
Budget of the United States Government This link opens in a new window
Collection of documents that contains the budget message of the President, information about the President's budget proposals for a given fiscal year, and other budgetary publications
Economic Indicators This link opens in a new window
Economic information on gross domestic product, income, employment, production, business activity, prices, money, credit, security markets, Federal finance, and international statistics. Economic Indicators back to 1948 are made available through FRASER.
Economic Report of the President This link opens in a new window
Annual report written by the Chairman of the Council of Economic Advisers. It overviews the nation's economic progress using text and extensive data appendices.
FRASER This link opens in a new window
Provides scanned images of historical economic statistical publications, releases and documents. Includes national banking and economic data ranging from 1896-1955 Banking Statistics to 1948-2005 Economic Indicators.
FRED This link opens in a new window
Provides up-to date financial and economic data, historical U.S. economic and financial data, including daily U.S. interest rates, monetary and business indicators, exchange rates, balance of payments and regional economic data.

Social Statistics

Statistical sources covering a wide range of topics such as: population, economic conditions, education, health, labor, crime, agriculture, and the environment.

FedStats This link opens in a new window
Gateway to statistics from over 100 United States Federal agencies.
Type: Full text
General Social Survey This link opens in a new window
Scientific research on the structure and development of American society with a data-collection program designed to both monitor societal change within the United States and to compare the United States to other nations.
ICPSR (Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research) This link opens in a new window
ICPSR offers more than 500,000 digital files containing social science research data. Disciplines represented include political science, sociology, demography, economics, history, gerontology, criminal justice, public health, foreign policy, terrorism, health and medical care, early education, education, racial and ethnic minorities, psychology, law, substance abuse and mental health, and more.
U.S. Bureau of Justice Statistics This link opens in a new window
Information on crime, criminal offenders, victims of crime, and the operation of justice systems at all levels of government.
U.S. Census Bureau Surveys This link opens in a new window
Surveys collect and analyze social, economic, and geographic data.
U.S. Office of Immigration Statistics This link opens in a new window
Annual core reports on immigrants by legal status and quantitative studies and research on immigration including the Yearbook of Immigration Statistics.