Mathematics: Find Reference Sources

Offers mathematics teachers, mathematics education professionals and students a valuable resource in which common terms are defined and expounded upon in short essay format. The shared vocabulary and terminology relating to mathematics teaching and learning, and used by mathematics educators is an essential component of work conducted in the field. The authors provide an overview of more than 100 terms commonly used in mathematics teaching and learning. Each term is defined and is followed by a short overview of the concept under discussion that includes several bibliographic references the reader can use for further investigation.

Provides clear, jargon-free definitions of a wide variety of mathematical terms. Its articles cover both pure and applied mathematics and statistics, and include key theories, concepts, methods, programmes, people, and terminology... Numerous supplementary features complement the text, including detailed appendices on basic algebra, areas and volumes, trigonometric formulae, and Roman numerals.

Lists 20,000 terms and definitions. Includes tables, diagrams, photos, and graphs.

Relational mathematics is to operations research and informatics what numerical mathematics is to engineering: it is intended to help modelling, reasoning, and computing. Its applications are therefore diverse, ranging from psychology, linguistics, decision aid, and ranking to machine learning and spatial reasoning.

This book is a reference for librarians, mathematicians, and statisticians involved in college and research level mathematics and statistics in the 21st century. We are in a time of transition in scholarly communications in mathematics, practices which have changed little for a hundred years are giving way to new modes of accessing information.

The Liar Paradox and the Towers of Hanoi takes die-hard puzzle mavens on a tour of the worlds most enduringly intriguing braintwisters, from Konigsbergs Bridges and the Hanoi Towers to Fibonaccis Rabbits, the Four Color Problem, and the Magic Square. Each chapter introduces the basic puzzle, discusses the mathematics behind it, and includes exercises and answers plus additional puzzles similar to the one under discussion.

An entertaining and informative anthology of popular math writing from the Renaissance to cyberspace Despite what we may sometimes imagine, popular mathematics writing didn't begin with Martin Gardner. In fact, it has a rich tradition stretching back hundreds of years. This entertaining and enlightening antholog--the first of its kind--gathers nearly one hundred fascinating selections from the past 500 years of popular math writing, bringing to life a little-known side of math history.

This book presents a unified approach to the foundations of mathematics in the theory of sets, covering both conventional and finitary (constructive) mathematics. It is based on a philosophical, historical and mathematical analysis of the relation between the concepts of 'natural number' and 'set'.

Scholarly biographies of scientists from the fields of astronomy, biology, chemistry earth science, mathematics, and physics. International in scope, and covering all periods of history. Each article includes a bibliography.

This collection of papers presents a series of in-depth examinations of a variety of advanced topics related to Boolean functions and expressions. The chapters are written by some of the most prominent experts in their respective fields and cover topics ranging from algebra and propositional logic to learning theory, cryptography, computational complexity, electrical engineering, and reliability theory.

Journey into Discrete Mathematics is designed for use in a first course in mathematical abstraction for early-career undergraduate mathematics majors. The important ideas of discrete mathematics are included-logic, sets, proof writing, relations, counting, number theory, and graph theory-in a manner that promotes development of a mathematical mindset and prepares students for further study.

The book's chapters are grouped into three sections: Attending to Students' Identities through Learning Professional Development That Embraces Community Principles for Teaching and Teacher Identity To turn our schools into places where children who are Indigenous, Black, and Latinx can thrive, we need to rehumanize our teaching practices.

In this peer-reviewed book, an international selection of authors consider what happens when their subject disciplines are combined with mathematics. The approach is anchored by math education to provide a lens on the implications for a single area of subject content when an interdisciplinary approach is taken. The overall book has implications for other focal subject or discipline foci because it is grounded by a theoretical framework that is not subject or discipline specific.

Mathematics for Social Justice offers a collection of resources for mathematics faculty interested in incorporating questions of social justice into their classrooms. The book begins with a series of essays from instructors experienced in integrating social justice themes into their pedagogy; these essays contain political and pedagogical motivations as well as nuts-and-bolts teaching advice.