Website: Biochemistry/Molecular Biology: Web Resources

Quick Links

ChemSpider This link opens in a new window
Chemistry search engine that aggregates and indexes chemical structures and their associated information into a single searchable repository.

Entrez
Integrated search and retrieval system, including PubMed, nucleotide and protein sequences, protein structures, complete genomes, taxonomy, and others.
National Center for Biotechnology Information
Provides access to multiple databases in biomedical and genomic information.

Enzyme Structures Database This link opens in a new window
Known enzyme structures deposited in the Protein Data Bank (PDB)

Ensembl Genome Browser
A multispecies comparative genomics database focusing on chordates.
eXpasy Bioinformatics Resource Portal
Provides access to scientific databases and software tools in different areas of life sciences including proteomics, genomics, phylogeny, systems biology, population genetics, and transcriptomics.

GenBank This link opens in a new window
NIH genetic sequence database of all publicly available DNA sequences.
KEGG LIGAND Database This link opens in a new window
Contains chemical substances and reactions that are relevant to biological systems. It is a composite database consisting of COMPOUND, GLYCAN, REACTION, RPAIR, and ENZYME databases.

Molecular Visualization Resources
This site brings together molecular visualization resources which include interactive tutorials, software for molecular exploration, an Atlas with images and descriptions of selected macromolecules, and more.

National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) This link opens in a new window
NCBI's major databases, including PubMed, Nucleotide and Protein Sequences, Protein Structures, Complete Genomes, Taxonomy, and others.
NCBI Genome This link opens in a new window
Organizes information on genomes including sequences, maps, chromosomes, assemblies, and annotations.
NCBI Structure This link opens in a new window
Molecular Modeling Database (MMDB) containing 3D macromolecular structures, including proteins and polynucleotides.
Protein Data Bank (PDB) This link opens in a new window
Repository for 3-D biological macromolecular structure data. The PDB archive contains information about experimentally-determined structures of proteins, nucleic acids, and complex assemblies.
PubChem Compound This link opens in a new window
Contains non-redundant, standardized and validated chemical structures extracted from deposited substances in PubChem Substance. A PubChem Compound record will link to more than one PubChem Substance record if different depositors supplied the same structure.
PubChem Substance This link opens in a new window
Contains chemical structures, synonyms, registration IDs, description, related urls, database cross-reference links to PubMed, protein 3D structures, and biological screening results. PubChem Substance records contain substance information electronically submitted to PubChem by depositors.