BIO315: Freshwater Ecology: Web Resources

The U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service (Service) provides information to the public on the extent and status of the Nation's wetlands. The agency has developed a series of topical maps to show wetlands and deepwater habitats. This geospatial information is used by Federal, State, and local agencies, academic institutions, and private industry for management, research, policy development, education and planning activities. Digital data can be viewed and downloaded through several methods.

Provides standardized information about the vascular plants, mosses, liverworts, hornworts, and lichens of the United States and its territories.

Provides a gateway to information resources in science and technology at the US government science agencies. Two major types of information are included: selected authoritative science Web sites; and databases of technical reports, journal articles, conference proceedings, and other published materials. (The specific content varies by database.)

A cluster of databases on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, and related areas. Includes access to TOXLINE, a collection of online bibliographic information covering the biochemical, pharmacological, physiological, and toxicological effects of drugs and other chemicals.

Literature on biodiversity digitized by natural history and botanical libraries. Contains journal articles and other texts on more than one million species names.

Scope includes almost 6,000 wildflower, tree, invertebrate and vertebrate species, but lacks mushrooms. Searchable parameters include animal type, coloring, size, habitat, geographical region. Includes warnings for dangerous or poisonous species. "Same data set used to create the printed Audubon Field Guides."

A collaborative effort among several internationally known natural history institutions, with the goal of providing detailed information about all 1.8 million species of organisms on Earth via a single, free web portal. Content is synthesized from published literature and verified by volunteer scientists. Most of the content is text, although multimedia and interactive content is available for some entries.

Access to botanical and other resources from around the world including: more than 600,000 plant type specimens; over 175,000 scientific research articles, and more than 20,000 paintings, photographs, drawings, and other images.

The Kentucky Watershed Watch provides information and links to local watershed.

On more than 10,000 World Wide Web pages, the project provides information about biodiversity, the characteristics of different groups of organisms, and their evolutionary history.