Website: Gender Studies: Getting Started

Quick Links

Writing Center

Writing Center
The Writing Center, located in the basement of Crounse (next to the Proctoring Center), offers one-on-one consultations between students and trained peer consultants for writing assignments. Our consultants serve as friendly readers, with the goal of helping you feel more in control of the writing process. The typical consultation begins with a collaborative effort to identify priorities for the session. If you've brought a draft with you, we'll take a few minutes to read through it, after which we'll have a conversation about how you can write your way towards the next, stronger draft.

Key Resources

Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Web of Science provides access to the world's leading citation databases in the Sciences, Social Sciences and Arts and Humanities, covering approximately 12,000 of the highest impact journals, as well as 160,000 conference proceedings. Centre has access to coverage from 1999 to present.
Video tutorials
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Designed for college students, this scholarly resource contains indexing and abstracts for more than 13,780 journals, with full-text for more than 9,000 of those titles.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides image and full text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in several social sciences and humanities disciplines including African-American Studies, Anthropology, Economics, Education, Literature, Philosophy, Political Science, and Sociology. The most current issues (typically from the past three to five years) are not included.
eHRAF World Cultures This link opens in a new window
eHRAF World Cultures is an online cross-cultural and ethnographic database that contains descriptive information on all aspects of cultural and social life. The annually-growing eHRAF database is unique in that the information is organized by cultures and ethnic groups and every document is subject-indexed at the paragraph level, facilitating precise retrieval within documents.
How to eHRAF tutorials: https://hraf.yale.edu/help/ehraf-video-tutorials/
Sociological Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides coverage of more than 500 full-text journals in all areas of sociology.