Website: BIO 500: Color in Nature

Library Sources

The Vertebrate Pigmentary System: from Pigment Cells to Disorders by Sharique A. Ali (Editor); Naima Parveen (Editor)
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2021
The Vertebrate Pigmentary System: From pigment cells to Disorders provides readers with fundamental knowledge of the structural and functional aspects of vertebrate pigment cells - melanophores and melanocytes - from their origin to different stages of development to related diseases.
Animal Camouflage : Mechanisms and Function by Martin Stevens 1982-(Editor)Sami Merilaita(Editor)
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2011
Using studies of both real animals and artificial systems, this book synthesises the current state of play in camouflage research and understanding. It introduces the different types of camouflage and how they work, including background matching, disruptive coloration and obliterative shading. It also demonstrates the methodologies used to study them and discusses how camouflage relates to other subjects, particularly with regard to what it can tell us about visual perception.
Superficial Melanocytic Pathology by David Elder (Series edited by); Sook Jung Yun
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2014
Provides guidance for resolving the real world problems pathologists face when diagnosing melanomas and other atypical pigmented lesions. It reviews each major category of atypical melanocytic lesions, including the pathology of the superficial categories of melanoma followed by a discussion of the major simulants of melanoma.
Concealing Coloration in Animals by Judy Diamond; Alan B. Bond
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2013
This book brings to light the many factors at work in the evolution of concealing coloration.

Encyclopedia of Dermatology (6 Volume Set) by Meghan Pratt
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2015
This encyclopedia presents important research on dermatological advances. This six set volume includes discussions on the structure and composition of the dermis layer of the skin; the biosynthesis, functions and health benefits of melanin; the genetics, as well as the geographic variation and disorders, of skin pigmentation; the causes, diagnosis and treatment of alopecia, rosacea, candidiasis, cyanosis, psoriasis, and bullous pemphigoid.
A Practical Guide to Dermoscopy by Orit Markowitz(Author)
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2017
This book helps one to use Dr. Orit Markowitz’s unique, “color wheel” approach to solve difficult diagnostic challenges, particularly when it comes to distinguishing between malignant and benign conditions, and thus expedite effective treatment
Color of Man by Robert Cohen; Ken Heyman (Illustrator)
Call Number: Juvenile GN197.C6
Publication Date: 1968
Discusses the biological reasons for various skin colors in man and the social and cultural impact of this phenomenon.
Manual of Dermatologic Therapeutics by Kenneth A Arndt 1936-(Author)Jeffrey T S Hsu(Editor)
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2014
a practical, accessible guide to the diagnosis and treatment of skin disorders.

Clinical Skin Disease Images
Images of skin diseases.
Animal Colors and Patterns
Some of the colors and patterns that animals use to send signals.
Biological Pigements
Web Exhibit's Causes of Color
Pigment Cell
An overview of pigment cells from ScienceDirect
Animal Coloration
ScienceDirect Articles about animal coloration
Biological Coloration
Britannica reference entry on coloration
Colors of Animals
WikiWand's History of Animal Coloration

Biology Databases

PubMed

An online database of citations to biomedical and other life science literature, created by the US National Library of Medicine. Its largest component is the MEDLINE bibliographical database. PubMed Central is a digital archive of literature drawn from biomedical and life science journals and linked to the PubMed database.

Web of Science

Web of Science provides access to the world's leading citation databases in the Sciences, Social Sciences and Arts and Humanities, covering approximately 12,000 of the highest impact journals, as well as 160,000 conference proceedings. Centre has access to coverage from 1999 to present.

ScienceDirect

Provides full-text and abstracts to over 2,500 journals published by Elsevier and its affiliates. ScienceDirect includes extensive coverage in science, engineering and medicine, plus many core journals in business, social sciences and humanities.

Agricola

Citations to materials acquired by the National Agricultural Library and cooperating institutions. Provides worldwide coverage of the agricultural literature, including economics, engineering, home economics, animal science, human nutrition, entomology, plant diseases, rural sociology, forestry, and veterinary medicine.

Web of Science

Search Tips

Search in the basic search box on the homepage.
Use truncation marks to expand your search terms. An * substitutes for zero or more character (e.g., *carbon* returns results for carbon, hydrocarbon, carbonate, polycarbonate, etc.). A $ substitutes for zero or one character (e.g., favo$rite returns favorite and favourite). A ? substitutes for exactly one character only (e.g., en?oblast returns endoblast and entoblast).
Default search results are by order of publication. However, you can quickly see the most influential articles on a topic with the "sort by" dropdown box. Simply select "times cited -- highest to lowest" in the dropdown menu.

Bells & Whistles

Follow the research trail. Once you select an article, you can find other articles which have cited it by clicking on the "Times Cited" link in the righthand column.
Save your favorite articles. Requires account creation and login.
Re-run recent searches. Use the "Select recent search" dropdown box to select a search from your current session.

Biology Journals

Annual Review of Biochemistry This link opens in a new window
Synthesizes and covers significant developments in the field of biochemistry in one annual volume. Search or browse. Full-text access from 1996 to present.
Annual Review of Plant Biology This link opens in a new window
Synthesizes and covers significant developments in the field of plant biology in one annual volume. Search or browse. Full-text access from 2002 to present.
Annual Review of Microbiology This link opens in a new window
Synthesizes and covers significant developments in the field of microbiology in one annual volume. Search or browse. Full-text access from 1996 to present.

Annual Review of Ecology, Evolution, and Systematics
Covers significant developments in the fields of ecology, evolutionary biology, and systematics, as they apply to all life on Earth. Full text access 1996-present.
Annual Review of Environment and Resources
Provides authoritative reviews of significant topics within environmental science and engineering, including ecology and conservation science, water and energy resources, atmosphere, oceans, climate change, agriculture and living resources, and human dimensions of resource use and global change. Full text access 1996-Present.
Annual Review of Genetics
Covers significant developments in the field of genetics. Full text access from 1996 - 2011; 2013 - Present.
Annual Review of Genomics and Human Genetics
Covers significant developments in the field of genomics as they apply to human genetics and the human genome. Full text access for 2012 only.
Annual Review of Physiology
Covers the significant developments in the field of animal physiology, including cardiovascular physiology; cell physiology; ecological, evolutionary, and comparative physiology; endocrinology; gastrointestinal physiology; neurophysiology; renal and electrolyte physiology; respiratory physiology; and special topics. Full text access 1997 - Present.

Scientific American (Nature) This link opens in a new window
Scientific American is a magazine aimed at educating the general public about discoveries and innovations in science and technology. It is now available as an online resource, with full-text access to the previous four years of subscription material. To access the full text of articles more than four years old, print copies of those issues are available in Bound Periodicals and Storage.

Springer Journals This link opens in a new window
Provides access to more than 2,000 STEM journals.

BioRisk Journal
A journal in ecology and biodiversity science. Access through Journals from library website

Microbial Ecology
A dedicated international forum for the presentation of high-quality scientific investigations of how microorganisms interact each other, with neighbors, with their surroundings
Aquatic Ecology Journal
A journal relating to the ecology of fresh, brackish, estuarine and marine environments

Trends in Ecology and Evolution Journal
Journal covers trending topics in ecology

Frontiers in Ecology and the Environment
Focuses on current ecological issues and environmental challenges. This journal is aimed at professional ecologists and scientists working in related disciplines. Coverage is 2003-2018* (3 year delay)

Currently Trending

Pigment Cell & Melanoma Research Journal

ScienceDirect

Search Tips

Browse: Click the "Browse" tab in the green bar at the top of the page; browse titles alphabetically, by subject, or limit browsing to only those titles in your "Favorites" list (requires account creation and login). To see only those titles for which Centre College has full-text availability, be sure the "Full-text available" box is checked and the "Abstract only" box is unchecked.
Search: Click the "Search" tab in the green bar at the top of the page. To limit results to full-text articles only, Use the "Source" dropdown box to select "Subscribed journals" (or, if you have an account, you can use the "My favorite journals" selection to limit results to titles from your "Favorites" list).
Use the "Related Articles" box on the citation detail page to find similar articles.

Bells & Whistles

Home screen (after logon): Displays up to 100 most recent searches, journals viewed, etc. (this feature can also be disabled); list of "Quick Links" to favorite journals and books as well as saved articles; news about latest ScienceDirect features and links to tutorials and help guides.
Save articles to your "Quick Links" list. Simply copy the URL of the html article format, go back to the "Home + Recent Actions" page, click the "Add to My Quick Links" under the "Quick Links on the Web" heading. Give the link a name and paste the article link in the URL box.
Alerts: Create your own search alert, or use one of the pre-set "Topic Alerts."
Top 25 feature: View the top 25 most frequently-downloaded articles by subject, or sign up to have the "Top 25" for your chosen subjects emailed to you.

Ebsco Databases (MEDLINE w/ Full Text, Academic Search Premier, etc.)

Search Tips

Check the "Full Text" and "Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals" boxes. This will filter your results to only those articles that are available in full text (not just as abstracts) and that have been peer-reviewed (that is, vetted by experts in a particular field).

Bells & Whistles

"Narrow Results By..." feature: The left-hand column on the search results page allows you to limit your results by a variety of criteria, including subject heading and publication title.
"Limit Your Results" feature: Allows you to further limit the results list to only those articles which list references, or by publication date using the date slider.
"Visual Search" option: Allows you to see a cascading list of results by subject. Article titles specifically related to a subject will display at the bottom of the column.
"Search History/Alerts" feature: See a list of searches from the current session; re-run, combine, or delete searches; save searches for subsequent sessions (permanant or temporary 24-hour save, or set up an email alert with customizable parameters); retrieve saved searches; edit alerts and alert settings. (Note: Saving and retrieving searches and setting up search alerts requires creating and logging into a free account.)

Multidisciplinary Databases

Academic Search Complete

Designed for college students, this scholarly resource contains indexing and abstracts for more than 13,780 journals, with full-text for more than 9,000 of those titles.

JSTOR

Provides image and full text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in several social sciences and humanities disciplines including African-American Studies, Anthropology, Economics, Education, Literature, Philosophy, Political Science, and Sociology. The most current issues (typically from the past three to five years) are not included.

Wiley Online Library

Subscribed access to many multidisciplinary journals (and many open access journals) covering Anthropology, Botany, Political Science, Art & Art History, Biochemistry & Molecular Biology, Biology, Ecology, History, Foreign Languages, Psychology, Sociology, Philosophy, as well as other subjects and disciplines.

Lists of Bio Peer-Reviewed Journals

JSTOR

Search Tips

Click the Search tab at the top of the page.
- "Basic Search" allows results to be limited by discipline.
- "Advanced Search" allows further limiting by material type, publication date range, language, and journal title.

Bells & Whistles

Save your favorite articles. Requires account creation and login.
Re-run recent searches. Use the "Select recent search" dropdown box to select a search from your current session.