Website: BIO 500: Fossil Biodiversity and Extinction

Library Books

Fossil Biodiversity
kw=(fossil biodiversity)
Biodiversity and Extinction
su=(biodiversity) AND su=(extinction)
Fossil Biodiversity and Extinction
kw=(fossil biodiversity) AND su=(extinction)
Fossil Biodiversity and Extinction
kw:(fossil biodiversity) AND kw:(extinction)

In the Light of Evolution by Francisco J. Ayala (Editor); John C. Avise (Editor)
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2007
In this book, modern scientific perspectives are presented on the evolutionary origin and maintenance of complex phenotypes including various behaviors, anatomies, and physiologies. After an introduction by the editors and an opening historical and conceptual essay by Francisco Ayala, this book includes 14 papers presented by distinguished evolutionists at the colloquium.
The Root Causes of Biodiversity Loss by Alexander Wood; Pamela Stedman-Edwards; Johanna Mang
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2000
This text addresses the findings of the World Wide Fund's Root Causes Project, a multiyear study of 10 biospheres in 10 countries with the purposes of understanding and changing the dynamics and factors that drive the loss of biological diversity.
The Miner's Canary by Niles Eldridge
Call Number: QE721.2.E97 E57 1991
Publication Date: 1991
A paleontologist gives an account of episodes of mass extinction from the geological past, offers his own theory, and presents a pessimistic forecast for the future of Earth and its inhabitants.
Extinctions in the History of Life by Paul D. Taylor (Editor)
Call Number: QE721.2.E97 E87 2004
Publication Date: 2009
The long fossil record of life provides scientists with crucial information about when species became extinct, which species were most vulnerable to extinction, and what processes may have brought about extinctions in the geological past. Key aspects of extinctions in the history of life are here reviewed by six leading palaeontologists, providing a source text for geology and biology undergraduates as well as more advanced scholars.

Smithsonian Paleobiology
Assembled fossil collections to increase public and scientific understanding of the biological and environmental history of Earth through the study of fossil animals, plants, and protists
Smithsonian Palentology Research Guide
A select list of resources for students, teachers, and researchers to learn about paleontology
KU Fossil Identification
A variety of fossil identification and exploration resources
Fossil Connections
A collaborative project created to provide educators with the resources needed to share the story of life
Common Fossils
A quick guide to common fossils
Paleobiology Database
A public database of paleontological data that anyone can use, maintained by an international non-governmental group of paleontologists
Fossil Plants
UCONN's Biodiversity reseach collection of paleobotanical materials
Biodiversity Journal
This journal provides immediate open access to its content on biodiversity through its role in the dissemination of taxonomical, ecological and biogeographical research

Biology Databases

Web of Science

Web of Science provides access to the world's leading citation databases in the Sciences, Social Sciences and Arts and Humanities, covering approximately 12,000 of the highest impact journals, as well as 160,000 conference proceedings. Centre has access to coverage from 1999 to present.

ScienceDirect

Provides full-text and abstracts to over 2,500 journals published by Elsevier and its affiliates. ScienceDirect includes extensive coverage in science, engineering and medicine, plus many core journals in business, social sciences and humanities.

Agricola

Citations to materials acquired by the National Agricultural Library and cooperating institutions. Provides worldwide coverage of the agricultural literature, including economics, engineering, home economics, animal science, human nutrition, entomology, plant diseases, rural sociology, forestry, and veterinary medicine.

PubMed

An online database of citations to biomedical and other life science literature, created by the US National Library of Medicine. Its largest component is the MEDLINE bibliographical database. PubMed Central is a digital archive of literature drawn from biomedical and life science journals and linked to the PubMed database.

Oxford Reference

Extinction
Several encyclopedia entries on 'Extinction' in the Life Sciences
Biodiversity
Several encyclopedia entries on 'Biodiversity' in the Life Sciences
Fossils
Several encyclopedia entries on 'Fossils' in the Life Sciences

Biodiversity Journals

Biodiversity
Peer-reviewed journals focusing on biodiversity

Biology Journals

Annual Review of Plant Biology

Synthesizes and covers significant developments in the field of plant biology in one annual volume. Search or browse. Full-text access from 2002 to present.

Scientific American (Nature)

Scientific American is a magazine aimed at educating the general public about discoveries and innovations in science and technology. It is now available as an online resource, with full-text access to the previous four years of subscription material. To access the full text of articles more than four years old, print copies of those issues are available in Bound Periodicals and Storage.

Springer Journals

Provides access to more than 2,000 STEM journals.

Annual Review of Ecology, Evolution and Systematics

Synthesizes and covers significant developments in the fields of ecology, evolution and systematics in one annual volume. Search or browse. Full-text access from 2003 to present.

Annual Review of Ecology and Systematics

Synthesizes and covers significant developments in the field of ecology and systematics in one annual volume. Search or browse. Full-text access from 1996 through 2002.

Biological Invasions

A journal of evolutionary and developmental biology. Publishes research and synthesis papers on patterns and processes of biological invasions.

Trends in Ecology & Evolution

This journal covers trends in ecology

Currently Trending

Biodiversity

ScienceDirect

Search Tips

Browse: Click the "Browse" tab in the green bar at the top of the page; browse titles alphabetically, by subject, or limit browsing to only those titles in your "Favorites" list (requires account creation and login). To see only those titles for which Centre College has full-text availability, be sure the "Full-text available" box is checked and the "Abstract only" box is unchecked.
Search: Click the "Search" tab in the green bar at the top of the page. To limit results to full-text articles only, Use the "Source" dropdown box to select "Subscribed journals" (or, if you have an account, you can use the "My favorite journals" selection to limit results to titles from your "Favorites" list).
Use the "Related Articles" box on the citation detail page to find similar articles.

Bells & Whistles

Home screen (after logon): Displays up to 100 most recent searches, journals viewed, etc. (this feature can also be disabled); list of "Quick Links" to favorite journals and books as well as saved articles; news about latest ScienceDirect features and links to tutorials and help guides.
Save articles to your "Quick Links" list. Simply copy the URL of the html article format, go back to the "Home + Recent Actions" page, click the "Add to My Quick Links" under the "Quick Links on the Web" heading. Give the link a name and paste the article link in the URL box.
Alerts: Create your own search alert, or use one of the pre-set "Topic Alerts."
Top 25 feature: View the top 25 most frequently-downloaded articles by subject, or sign up to have the "Top 25" for your chosen subjects emailed to you.

Multidisciplinary Databases

Academic Search Complete

Designed for college students, this scholarly resource contains indexing and abstracts for more than 13,780 journals, with full-text for more than 9,000 of those titles.

JSTOR

Provides image and full text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in several social sciences and humanities disciplines including African-American Studies, Anthropology, Economics, Education, Literature, Philosophy, Political Science, and Sociology. The most current issues (typically from the past three to five years) are not included.

Web of Science

Search Tips

Search in the basic search box on the homepage.
Use truncation marks to expand your search terms. An * substitutes for zero or more character (e.g., *carbon* returns results for carbon, hydrocarbon, carbonate, polycarbonate, etc.). A $ substitutes for zero or one character (e.g., favo$rite returns favorite and favourite). A ? substitutes for exactly one character only (e.g., en?oblast returns endoblast and entoblast).
Default search results are by order of publication. However, you can quickly see the most influential articles on a topic with the "sort by" dropdown box. Simply select "times cited -- highest to lowest" in the dropdown menu.

Bells & Whistles

Follow the research trail. Once you select an article, you can find other articles which have cited it by clicking on the "Times Cited" link in the righthand column.
Save your favorite articles. Requires account creation and login.
Re-run recent searches. Use the "Select recent search" dropdown box to select a search from your current session.