Computer Science

Containing over 6,500 entries and with expanded coverage of multimedia, computer applications, networking, and personal computer science, it is a comprehensive reference work encompassing all aspects of the subject and is as valuable for home and office users as it is indispensable for students of computer science.

With My Revision Notes you can: Take control of your revision: plan and focus on the areas where you need to improve your knowledge and understanding with advice, summaries and notes from expert authors Achieve your potential by applying computing terms accurately with the help of definitions and key words on all topics Improve your exam skills by tackling exam-style and self-testing questions.

This study aid and reference tool has entries and is divided into themed sections making it more than just a list of definitions. Written in an easily accessible style, it is specifically designed to support those taking computer courses or courses where computers are used.

Contains information about many core facets of modern computational-linguistic work. This book is suitable for people interested in learning about strategies that are best suited for developing computational-linguistic capabilities for lesser-studied languages - either 'from scratch' or using components developed for other languages.

Computer telephony represents the convergence of telephone systems with computers and data networks. It spans a vast range of equipment, technology, and services -- far beyond the boundaries of any one technical discipline. This book provides an all-in-one resource for any professional involved in this burgeoning field. Hundreds of different topics are examined thoroughly, with practical and easy-to-understand explanations of their use and significance, and how they relate to other technologies. In its essence, computer telephony is the adding of computer intelligence to the making, receiving, and managing of telephone calls. This book covers a broad range of applications, as well as the core technologies that support special services, such as voice recognition, digital signal processing, broadband networks, and IP telephony.

A cultural field guide to software: artists, computer scientists, designers, cultural theorists, programmers, and others define a new field of study and practice. This collection of short expository, critical, and speculative texts offers a field guide to the cultural, political, social, and aesthetic impact of software.

The most comprehensive, research-based encyclopedia consisting of contributions from over 900 noted researchers in over 50 countries. This five-volume encyclopedia includes more than 550 articles highlighting current concepts, issues and emerging technologies. These articles are enhanced by special attention that is paid to over 5,000 technical and managerial terms. These terms will each have a 5-50 word description that allow the users of this extensive research source to learn the language and terminology of the field. In addition, these volumes offer a thorough reference section with over 11,500 sources of information that can be accessed by scholars, students, and researchers in the field of information science and technology.