Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
American Women of Science by
Call Number: JUVENILE Q141 .C1285 2001
Publication Date: 2001-01-01
Science is the process of observing, identifying, classifying, describing, and trying to explain and understand the natural world. Yet often women were denied a career in this fascinating field. The ten women featured in this book broke new ground in their scientific discoveries and gender barriers. Author Carole Ann Camp takes an extensive look at the lives of many great female scientist, including Florence Bascom, Barbara McClintock, Maria Goeppert-Mayer, Grace Murray Hopper, Rachel Carson, Chien-Shiung Wu, Rosalyn Sussman Yalow, Stephanie Louise Kwolek, Shirley Ann Jackson, and Flossie Wong-Staal.
The Biographical Dictionary of Women in Science by
Call Number: Q141 .B5285 2000
Publication Date: 2000-07-06
Edited by two of the most respected scholars in the field, this milestone reference combines "facts-fronted" fast access to biographical details with highly readable accounts and analyses of nearly 3000 scientists' lives, works, and accomplishments. For all academic and public libraries' science and women's studies collections.
Concise Dictionary of Women Artists by
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2013-04-03
This book includes some 200 complete entries from the award-winning Dictionary of Women Artists, as well as a selection of introductory essays from the main volume.
International Encyclopedia of Women Scientists by
Call Number: Q141 .O27 2002
Publication Date: 2001-11-01
"The International Encyclopedia of Women Scientists is an invaluable and authoritative resource for students of science and women's studies
Notable Twentieth-Century Latin American Women by
Call Number: REFERENCE CT3290 .N68 2001
Publication Date: 2000-11-30
Notable Twentieth-Century Latin American Women is a powerful testimony to the outstanding contributions 72 of the most noteworthy women have made to their fields and to society. This volume covers a broad range of women excelling in the fields of politics, art, religion, government, education, literature, popular culture, and the sciences, with substantial, up-to-date biographical and career overviews. Many notables are international figures, such as former Nicaraguan President Violeta Barrios de Chamorro, Cuban Queen of Salsa Celia Cruz, and Mexican artist Frida Kahlo. Others, such as the Mirabal sisters, founders of a resistance movement against a repressive Dominican Republic regime, and Carmen Naranjo, a prolific Costa Rican author and champion of culture, merit the wider recognition offered here. An excellent introduction detailing the status of Latin American women in the twentieth century is the ideal framework for appreciating the struggles of these women. In the entries, information given includes family and background details, education, influences, obstacles faced and overcome, and achievements. Each entry includes a Further Reading section to enable students and other interested readers to learn more about the woman's life. Numerous photos enhance the text.
Women in Congress (Online)
Call Number: Internet
Biographical profiles of former women members of Congress and links to information about current women members.
Women in Congress, 1917-2006 by
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2007-04-10
NOTE: NO FURTHER DISCOUNT FOR THIS PRINT PRODUCT--OVERSTOCK SALE -- Significantly reduced list price while supplies last Women in Congress, 1917-2006 is the most comprehensive source available on the 229 women who have served in U.S. House of Representatives and Senate--from the first woman elected to Congress, Jeannette Rankin of Montana, to the new Members of the 109th Congress. The book covers the breadth of the story of congressional women: Pioneers who broke racial barriers, such as Patsy Mink of Hawaii, the first woman of color to serve in Congress, and Shirley Chisholm of New York, the first African-American Congresswoman Masters of institutional politics such as Mary Norton of New Jersey, Julia Hansen of Washington, and Barbara Jordan of Texas One-term widows to such women as Edith Nourse Rogers of Massachusetts, the longest serving woman in congressional history, and Margaret Chase Smith of Maine, the first woman to serve in the House and Senate And many others such as Ruth Hanna McCormick, an Illinois Representative and the first woman to be a U.S. Senate candidate on a major party ticket; Dixie Bibb Graves of Alabama, whose husband, the state's governor, appointed her to the U.S. Senate; and Coya Knutson of Minnesota, a U.S. Representative whose promising career was cut short when her husband sabotaged her 1958 campaign by claiming that she had neglected her familial responsibilities Designed for students and a general audience, this book features four- to six-page biographical profiles of individual Members, drawn from primary and secondary sources and set into generational time periods. Former Member profiles are arranged chronologically and are introduced by contextual essays that explain major events in congressional and U.S. history. Profiles of the 74 women Members of the 109th Congress are covered in a separate section of the book and are arranged alphabetically. The book also includes: Pictures of every woman who has served in Congress, including rare historical images Bibliographies for further reading and manuscript collection references Statistical graphs and charts Appendices on women's committee assignments; women committee and subcommittee chairs; women in Congress by state; and minority women in Congress A comprehensive index Authorized by a U.S. House resolution, and researched and written by the Office of History Preservation in the Office of the Clerk, U.S. House of Representatives, Womenin Congress is the first in an official four-part series about minorities who have served in Congress. Future volumes will profile African Americans, Hispanic Americans, and Asian-Pacific Islander Americans who have served in Congress. Related products: Hispanic Americans in Congress, 1822-2012 --Hardcover format can be found here: https://bookstore.gpo.gov/products/sku/052-071-01563-9 -- Paperback format can be found here: https://bookstore.gpo.gov/products/sku/052-071-01567-1 Black Americans in Congress, 1870-2007 -- Hardcover format can be found here: https://bookstore.gpo.gov/products/sku/052-070-07519-8 -- Paperback format can be found here: https://bookstore.gpo.gov/products/sku/052-070-07520-1
Women in World History by
Call Number: HQ1115 .W6 1999
Publication Date: 2001-11-27
A comprehensive multi-volume encyclopedia that profiles women throughout time and throughout the world. More than 2,500 scholarly articles highlight a particular woman's personal background and significance in history. Shorter entries spotlight historically important women who are less frequently researched or for whom less information is available.