Website: Philosophy: Reference Materials

Reference Material

Reference Materials refer to Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, or Handbooks that provide a general overview of a subject or topic of research. Reference materials are great for researchers who want a general overview of their topic from a reputable source.

Key details present in Reference Materials:

Important Dates

Important names

Definitions of Key Terms

Further Readings and Bibliographies to other text.

Online Reference Sources

Online Reference Material can be accesed with your Centrenet Username and Password. Click the link and login to access these sites.

Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Philosophy professors at Stanford University are developing this encyclopedia, featuring hundreds of articles. The section called "What's New" features the latest entries. Searchable and browsable.
The Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy
The Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy (IEP) (ISSN 2161-0002) was founded in 1995 to provide open access to detailed, scholarly, peer-reviewed information on key topics and philosophers in all areas of philosophy. The Encyclopedia receives no funding, and it operates through the volunteer work of the editors, authors, volunteers, and technical advisers. The Encyclopedia is free of charge and available to all users of the Internet worldwide. The staff of 30 editors and approximately 300 authors hold doctorate degrees and are professors at universities around the world. There are over 8.2 million unique visitors every year.

Oxford Reference Online : The Oxford Dictionary of Philosophy This link opens in a new window
"This best-selling dictionary covers all areas of philosophy and contains terms from the related fields of religion, science, and logic. Clear and authoritative definitions and make it an essential resource for students and teachers and an ideal introduction for anyone with an interest in philosophy.This edition includes 500 biographies of famous and influential philosophers and covers the most recent terms and concepts from Western philosophical traditions, as well as Chinese, Indian, Islami
Oxford Reference Online : The Oxford Companion to Philosophy This link opens in a new window
" An assembly of 249 distinguished philosophers have contributed to The Oxford Companion to Philosophy to create the most authoritative and engaging philosophical reference work in English. It gives clear and reliable guidance to all areas of philosophy and to the ideas of all notable philosophers from antiquity to the present day. The second edition has been considerably revised and updated, and includes 300 new articles on current topics, such as animal consciousness, cloning, corporate respon