Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Arts and Markets: Economic Histories of the Arts: Articles

Production, reception and the distribution and sale of art have historically influenced the aesthetics and creation of art. This guide will focus on finding and using materials for research in the area of the economic history of art.

Find and Use Databases

When looking for articles on your topic, the best way to start is to search within article databases. The Library has access to dozens of databases, which in turn index thousands of periodicals. Many, but not all, contain the full-text of articles.

Finding Databases

To find the appropriate databases, go to the Library website.

Using Databases

Once in a database, start with a KEYWORD search using words relevant to your topic. When you see an article that looks interesting, click on the title to see the complete citation. If there are SUBJECT TERMS or DESCRIPTORS, click on those that seem related to your topic to get other articles on the subject.

Some tips:

  • Not all databases have the full-text of articles. Some only provide citations and abstracts. Use the Look for full text with LinkSource icon to see if the full-text of the article is available in another database.
  • If the Library doesn't have access to a journal, you can obtain the article through interlibrary loan.
  • Almost all Library databases can be accessed from off-campus. The easiest way to do this is to use links from the Library website. You will then be prompted for your Centre ID and password to authenticate yourself as an authorized user.

Research Databases