BIO305: Microevolution & Speciation: Internet Resources

Berkeley provides a great introduction to evolution.

Literature on biodiversity digitized by natural history and botanical libraries. Contains journal articles and other texts on more than one million species names.

Searches across databases provided by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI), including GenBank, PubMed, OMIM, and many others.

An enormous collection of resources for the study of genetics and human health.

NCBI's major databases, including PubMed, Nucleotide and Protein Sequences, Protein Structures, Complete Genomes, Taxonomy, and others.

From the NCSE: "The National Center for Science Education (NCSE) is a not-for-profit, membership organization providing information and resources for schools, parents, and citizens working to keep evolution and climate science in public school science education."

Provides standardized information about the vascular plants, mosses, liverworts, hornworts, and lichens of the United States and its territories.

The primary worldwide repository for biological macromolecular structure data. PDB is a major tool for studying the structures of biological macromolecules and their relationships to sequence, function, and disease.

Provides a gateway to information resources in science and technology at the US government science agencies. Two major types of information are included: selected authoritative science Web sites; and databases of technical reports, journal articles, conference proceedings, and other published materials. (The specific content varies by database.)

On more than 10,000 World Wide Web pages, the project provides information about biodiversity, the characteristics of different groups of organisms, and their evolutionary history.