Website: BIO500: Senior Seminar: Other BIO Sources

Web-Based BIO Resources

BioProject (formerly the Genome Project) This link opens in a new window
A BioProject is a collection of biological data related to a single initiative, originating from a single organization or from a consortium. A BioProject record provides users a single place to find links to the diverse data types generated for that project.
BLAST (Basic Local Alignment Search Tool) This link opens in a new window
Part of the NMBI. This tool finds regions of local similarity between biological sequences. The program compares nucleotide or protein sequences to sequence databases and calculates the statistical significance of matches. BLAST can be used to infer functional and evolutionary relationships between sequences as well as to help identify members of gene families
International Union for Conservation of Nature This link opens in a new window
Conserving biodiversity is central to the mission of IUCN. Their mission is to demonstrate how biodiversity is fundamental to addressing some of the world’s greatest challenges such as climate change, sustainable development and food security.
JSTOR Plant Science This link opens in a new window
Access to botanical and other resources from around the world including: more than 600,000 plant type specimens; over 175,000 scientific research articles, and more than 20,000 paintings, photographs, drawings, and other images.
National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) This link opens in a new window
NCBI's major databases, including PubMed, Nucleotide and Protein Sequences, Protein Structures, Complete Genomes, Taxonomy, and others.
Nucleic Acid Database This link opens in a new window
The NDB contains information about experimentally-determined nucleic acids and complex assemblies.
Protein Data Bank (PDB) This link opens in a new window
Repository for 3-D biological macromolecular structure data. The PDB archive contains information about experimentally-determined structures of proteins, nucleic acids, and complex assemblies.
Quick Guide to Sequenced Genomes This link opens in a new window
Descriptions of the organisms with links to sequencing centers and abstracts. From the Genome News Network.
Society for Conservation Biology This link opens in a new window
The Society for Conservation Biology (SCB) is an international professional organization dedicated to promoting the scientific study of the phenomena that affect the maintenance, loss, and restoration of biological diversity.
UCSC Genome Browser This link opens in a new window
This site contains the reference sequence and working draft assemblies for a large collection of genomes.
VISTA This link opens in a new window
VISTA is a comprehensive suite of programs and databases for comparative analysis of genomic sequences.