Databases A-to-Z: Div III - Science & Math

An online database of citations to biomedical and other life science literature, created by the US National Library of Medicine. Its largest component is the MEDLINE bibliographical database. PubMed Central is a digital archive of literature drawn from biomedical and life science journals and linked to the PubMed database.

Provides full-text and abstracts to over 2,500 journals published by Elsevier and its affiliates. ScienceDirect includes extensive coverage in science, engineering and medicine, plus many core journals in business, social sciences and humanities.

Provides access to more than 2,000 STEM journals.

Web of Science provides access to the world's leading citation databases in the Sciences, Social Sciences and Arts and Humanities, covering approximately 12,000 of the highest impact journals, as well as 160,000 conference proceedings. Centre has access to coverage from 1999 to present.

Citations to materials acquired by the National Agricultural Library and cooperating institutions. Provides worldwide coverage of the agricultural literature, including economics, engineering, home economics, animal science, human nutrition, entomology, plant diseases, rural sociology, forestry, and veterinary medicine.

The Society's 13 journals cover the spectrum of microbiology, from molecular and cellular biology to biomedical research and technology.

Synthesizes and covers significant developments in the field of plant biology in one annual volume. Search or browse. Full-text access from 2002 to present.

Comprehensive source for nursing and allied health journals, providing full text for more than 610 journals indexed in CINAHL. Full-text coverage from 1981.

Provides quick and easy access to hundreds of thousands of built-in data indicators related to demography, economy, health, politics, environment, crime and more.

Subscribed access to these 33 multidisciplinary journals (and many open access journals): American Anthropologist, American Ethnologist, American Journal of Botany, American Journal of Political Science, Art History, Biochemistry and Molecular Biology Education, Child Development, Conservation Biology, Ecological Applications, Ecological Monographs, Ecology - NY, Economic History Review, Family Relations, FASEB Journal, Foreign Language Annals, German Life & Letters, International Social Science Journal, Journal of Aesthetics and Art Criticism, Journal of Applied Social Psychology, Journal of Ecology, Journal of Family Theory and Review, Journal of Forensic Sciences, Sociology Lens, Journal of Marriage and Family, Legislative Studies Quarterly, Modern Language Journal, Monographs of the Society for Research in Child Development, Philosophy & Phenomenological Research, Philosophy & Public Affairs, Plant Cell and Environment, Psychophysiology, Renaissance Studies, AND The Yale Review

Links to full-text versions of ACS journals. NOTE: Centre College users have access to 90 selected ACS titles. Please contact the Electronic Resources Librarian for a list of titles.

Links to full-text versions of RSC journals. NOTE: Centre College users have access only to selected RSC titles:
- Dalton Transactions

- Chemical Society Reviews

- Physical Chemistry Chemical Physics

Provides full-text and abstracts to over 2,500 journals published by Elsevier and its affiliates. ScienceDirect includes extensive coverage in science, engineering and medicine, plus many core journals in business, social sciences and humanities.

Centre College users who have not registered to use SciFinder should use this link to register for an account. Once you have submitted your registration information, you will receive an email with your link. You must click on that link within 48 hours in order to complete the registration process.

SciFinder is the electronic version of the print publication Chemical Abstracts. SciFinder comprehensively covers the world-wide literature of chemistry including journal articles, patents, conference proceedings, theses and dissertations, technical reports, government documents, etc.

Provides access to more than 2,000 STEM journals.

Web of Science provides access to the world's leading citation databases in the Sciences, Social Sciences and Arts and Humanities, covering approximately 12,000 of the highest impact journals, as well as 160,000 conference proceedings. Centre has access to coverage from 1999 to present.

PubChem contains the chemical structures of small organic molecules and information on their biological activities and is searchable via PubChem Substance, PubChem Compound, PubChem Bioassay and PubChem Structure Search.

APS publications serve the international physics community with peer-reviewed research journals, news and commentary about the latest research published in the Physical Review journals, news about and for members, information about physics and its place in the world, and blogs covering science policy, as well as fun and educational science news. Centre College subscribes to all 17 APS publications including:
Physical Review Letters
Reviews of Modern Physics
Physical Review A
Physical Review B
Physical Review C
Physical Review D
Physical Review E
Physical Review Applied
Physical Review Fluids
Physical Review Materials
PROLA

Subscribed access to these 33 multidisciplinary journals (and many open access journals): American Anthropologist, American Ethnologist, American Journal of Botany, American Journal of Political Science, Art History, Biochemistry and Molecular Biology Education, Child Development, Conservation Biology, Ecological Applications, Ecological Monographs, Ecology - NY, Economic History Review, Family Relations, FASEB Journal, Foreign Language Annals, German Life & Letters, International Social Science Journal, Journal of Aesthetics and Art Criticism, Journal of Applied Social Psychology, Journal of Ecology, Journal of Family Theory and Review, Journal of Forensic Sciences, Sociology Lens, Journal of Marriage and Family, Legislative Studies Quarterly, Modern Language Journal, Monographs of the Society for Research in Child Development, Philosophy & Phenomenological Research, Philosophy & Public Affairs, Plant Cell and Environment, Psychophysiology, Renaissance Studies, AND The Yale Review

Provides full-text and abstracts to over 2,500 journals published by Elsevier and its affiliates. ScienceDirect includes extensive coverage in science, engineering and medicine, plus many core journals in business, social sciences and humanities.

Provides access to more than 2,000 STEM journals.

Web of Science provides access to the world's leading citation databases in the Sciences, Social Sciences and Arts and Humanities, covering approximately 12,000 of the highest impact journals, as well as 160,000 conference proceedings. Centre has access to coverage from 1999 to present.

Scientific American is a magazine aimed at educating the general public about discoveries and innovations in science and technology. It is now available as an online resource, with full-text access to the previous four years of subscription material. To access the full text of articles more than four years old, print copies of those issues are available in Bound Periodicals and Storage.

Provides quick and easy access to hundreds of thousands of built-in data indicators related to demography, economy, health, politics, environment, crime and more.

Statista.com provides companies, business customers, research institutions, and the academic community with direct access to quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas of interest or markets.

Provides full-text and abstracts to over 2,500 journals published by Elsevier and its affiliates. ScienceDirect includes extensive coverage in science, engineering and medicine, plus many core journals in business, social sciences and humanities.

Provides access to more than 2,000 STEM journals.

Web of Science provides access to the world's leading citation databases in the Sciences, Social Sciences and Arts and Humanities, covering approximately 12,000 of the highest impact journals, as well as 160,000 conference proceedings. Centre has access to coverage from 1999 to present.

An online archive of full-text pre-prints hosted at Cornell University. This repository covers all areas physics, as well as astronomy, mathematics, nonlinear science, computer science, quantitative biology, and statistics.

MEDLINE is the National Library of Medicine's premier bibliographic database covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences. This site uses the EBSCOhost search interface.

An online database of citations to biomedical and other life science literature, created by the US National Library of Medicine. Its largest component is the MEDLINE bibliographical database. PubMed Central is a digital archive of literature drawn from biomedical and life science journals and linked to the PubMed database.

Comprehensive source for nursing and allied health journals, providing full text for more than 610 journals indexed in CINAHL. Full-text coverage from 1981.

Provides content covering all areas of health and wellness from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic, and integrated medicine plus the Clinical Reference System and drug monographs.

Nearly 80 full text, consumer magazines covering information on health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health

Comprehensive resource for the international literature of mathematics and statistics. Coverage includes bibliographic data and reviews from Mathematical Reviews Database. MathSciNet also provides links from reviews to the full-text of articles in over 190 journals, but access to full articles is limited to Centre College Library's subscription to that journal or online service. Currently, we only subscribe to Proceedings of the American Mathematical Society Journal.

Provides full-text and abstracts to over 2,500 journals published by Elsevier and its affiliates. ScienceDirect includes extensive coverage in science, engineering and medicine, plus many core journals in business, social sciences and humanities.

APS publications serve the international physics community with peer-reviewed research journals, news and commentary about the latest research published in the Physical Review journals, news about and for members, information about physics and its place in the world, and blogs covering science policy, as well as fun and educational science news. Centre College subscribes to all 17 APS publications including:
Physical Review Letters
Reviews of Modern Physics
Physical Review A
Physical Review B
Physical Review C
Physical Review D
Physical Review E
Physical Review Applied
Physical Review Fluids
Physical Review Materials
PROLA

The American Physical Society's online archive for Physical Review Letters, Reviews of Modern Physics, and Physical Review A-E. It contains all APS journal articles published from 1893. Each January, another year is added to the archive.

Provides full-text and abstracts to over 2,500 journals published by Elsevier and its affiliates. ScienceDirect includes extensive coverage in science, engineering and medicine, plus many core journals in business, social sciences and humanities.

Provides access to more than 2,000 STEM journals.

Physics and engineering journals from the American Institute of Physics (AIP) and other publishers. NOTE: Centre College users will only have access to the full-text of journals to which the library subscribes.
American Journal of Physics: (1933 - Current)
Physics Today: (1999 - Current)
The Journal of Chemical Physics: (1933 - Current)

Web of Science provides access to the world's leading citation databases in the Sciences, Social Sciences and Arts and Humanities, covering approximately 12,000 of the highest impact journals, as well as 160,000 conference proceedings. Centre has access to coverage from 1999 to present.

MEDLINE is the National Library of Medicine's premier bibliographic database covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences. This site uses the EBSCOhost search interface.

The most comprehensive international database of psychology. APA PsycInfo includes relevant materials from related disciplines such as medicine, psychiatry, education, social work, law, criminology, social science, and organizational behavior. It provides indexes to journals, dissertations, book chapters, books, technical reports, and other documents from 1887 to the present. Many journals are available in full-text.

An online database of citations to biomedical and other life science literature, created by the US National Library of Medicine. Its largest component is the MEDLINE bibliographical database. PubMed Central is a digital archive of literature drawn from biomedical and life science journals and linked to the PubMed database.

Compilation of articles on various aspects of psychology that have been published during the year. Each article includes a bibliography.

Full text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology from nearly 80 journals published by the American Psychological Association and allied organizations. Coverage spans 1894 to present; nearly all APA journals go back to volume 1.

Full text psychology database covering information concerning topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods.

The PILOTS database is an electronic index to the worldwide literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental-health consequences of exposure to traumatic events.

Provides quick and easy access to hundreds of thousands of built-in data indicators related to demography, economy, health, politics, environment, crime and more.

Web of Science provides access to the world's leading citation databases in the Sciences, Social Sciences and Arts and Humanities, covering approximately 12,000 of the highest impact journals, as well as 160,000 conference proceedings. Centre has access to coverage from 1999 to present.

Subscribed access to these 33 multidisciplinary journals (and many open access journals): American Anthropologist, American Ethnologist, American Journal of Botany, American Journal of Political Science, Art History, Biochemistry and Molecular Biology Education, Child Development, Conservation Biology, Ecological Applications, Ecological Monographs, Ecology - NY, Economic History Review, Family Relations, FASEB Journal, Foreign Language Annals, German Life & Letters, International Social Science Journal, Journal of Aesthetics and Art Criticism, Journal of Applied Social Psychology, Journal of Ecology, Journal of Family Theory and Review, Journal of Forensic Sciences, Sociology Lens, Journal of Marriage and Family, Legislative Studies Quarterly, Modern Language Journal, Monographs of the Society for Research in Child Development, Philosophy & Phenomenological Research, Philosophy & Public Affairs, Plant Cell and Environment, Psychophysiology, Renaissance Studies, AND The Yale Review

Provides quick and easy access to hundreds of thousands of built-in data indicators related to demography, economy, health, politics, environment, crime and more.

Statista.com provides companies, business customers, research institutions, and the academic community with direct access to quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas of interest or markets.

World News Digest is a go-to resource for context and background on key issues and events in the news from 1940-present. In addition to news articles, WND aggregates social media feeds and includes editorial cartoons, historical documents infographics and statistics. Hundreds of news sources, governments, and organizations—including ABC News, CBS News, CNN, Fox News, NBC News, NPR, and the parliaments of Canada and Australia—rely on World News Digest for a broader view of the issues that matter today.

Subscribed access to these 33 multidisciplinary journals (and many open access journals): American Anthropologist, American Ethnologist, American Journal of Botany, American Journal of Political Science, Art History, Biochemistry and Molecular Biology Education, Child Development, Conservation Biology, Ecological Applications, Ecological Monographs, Ecology - NY, Economic History Review, Family Relations, FASEB Journal, Foreign Language Annals, German Life & Letters, International Social Science Journal, Journal of Aesthetics and Art Criticism, Journal of Applied Social Psychology, Journal of Ecology, Journal of Family Theory and Review, Journal of Forensic Sciences, Sociology Lens, Journal of Marriage and Family, Legislative Studies Quarterly, Modern Language Journal, Monographs of the Society for Research in Child Development, Philosophy & Phenomenological Research, Philosophy & Public Affairs, Plant Cell and Environment, Psychophysiology, Renaissance Studies, AND The Yale Review