Website: Databases A-to-Z: Interdisciplinary

African & African American Studies

African History and Culture, 1540-1921 This link opens in a new window
Created from the holdings of the Library Company of Philadelphia, African History and Culture, 1540-1921, contains more than 1,300 fully cataloged and searchable books, pamphlets, almanacs, broadsides and ephemera cover the history, peoples, and social and economic development of the African continent from the 16th century to the early 20th century. All areas of Africa and important adjacent regions are covered.
African-American History (Infobase) This link opens in a new window
Covering more than 500 years of the African-American experience, African-American History offers a fresh way to explore the full spectrum of African-American history and culture. Read about key figures and events, examine famous speeches and other primary sources, and get context from the in-depth timelines. An important feature is the full cross-searchability across all the Infobase history databases for an even more comprehensive view of history.
The American Slavery Collection, 1820-1922 This link opens in a new window
This digital edition of the American Antiquarian Society’s holdings of slavery and abolition materials delivers more than 3,500 works published over the course of more than 100 years. These diverse materials, all filmed in full-resolution color, include books, pamphlets, graphic materials, and ephemera; among them are a large number of invaluable Southern imprints.
eHRAF World Cultures This link opens in a new window
eHRAF World Cultures is an online cross-cultural and ethnographic database that contains descriptive information on all aspects of cultural and social life. The annually-growing eHRAF database is unique in that the information is organized by cultures and ethnic groups and every document is subject-indexed at the paragraph level, facilitating precise retrieval within documents.
How to eHRAF tutorials: https://hraf.yale.edu/help/ehraf-video-tutorials/
Sabin Americana (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Based on Joseph Sabin's famed bibliography, Bibliotheca Americana – A Dictionary of Books Relating to America From its Discovery to the Present Time, Sabin Americana, 1500–1926 is an online collection of books, pamphlets, serials and other works about the Americas, from the time of their discovery to the early 1900s.
Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
Provides quick and easy access to hundreds of thousands of built-in data indicators related to demography, economy, health, politics, environment, crime and more.
Immigrations, Migrations and Refugees: Global Perspectives, 1941-1996 This link opens in a new window
Translated and English-language radio and television broadcasts, newspapers, periodicals, government documents and books providing global insight on immigration in the mid-to-late 20th century.

Asian Studies

ACLS Humanities E-Book This link opens in a new window
Full-text of over 2,000 scholarly books in history and the humanities.
Archives Unbound This link opens in a new window
Archives Unbound provide smaller archival packages from Gale. To view all of the collections Centre owns, hover over the "I" information icon.
Collections:
-Liberation Movements in Africa and African America
-European Colonialism in the Early 20th Century: French Colonialism
-European Colonialism in the Early 20th Century: Political and Economic Consolidation of Portuguese Colonies
-European Colonialism in the Early 20th Century: Italy; Political, Economic, and Military Conditions in China
-Foreign Relations Between the US and Latin America
-Revolution in Honduras and America
-Correspondence from German Concentration Camps and Prisons
-Japan at War and Peace, 1930-1949: Records of the U.S. State Department Classified Files
-19th Century English Language Journals of the Far East
-Franklin D. Roosevelt and Race Relations, 1933-1945
-Allied Propaganda in World War II and the British Political Warfare Executive
-The British Mandate in Palestine, Arab-Jewish Relations, and the U.S. Consulate at Jerusalem, 1920-1944
-Conditions & Politics in Occupied Western Europe, 1940-1945
-Holocaust and the Concentration Camp Trials: Prosecution of Nazi War Crimes
-Psychological Warfare and Propaganda in World War II: Air Dropped and Shelled Leaflets and Periodicals
-Arab-Israeli Relations, 1917-1970 and Policing the Shanghai International Settlement, 1894-1945.
-Federal Surveillance of African Americans:1920-1984
-Policing The Shanghai International Settlement:1894-1945
Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO) This link opens in a new window
Includes working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, books, journals, policy briefs, and proceedings from conferences.
eHRAF World Cultures This link opens in a new window
eHRAF World Cultures is an online cross-cultural and ethnographic database that contains descriptive information on all aspects of cultural and social life. The annually-growing eHRAF database is unique in that the information is organized by cultures and ethnic groups and every document is subject-indexed at the paragraph level, facilitating precise retrieval within documents.
How to eHRAF tutorials: https://hraf.yale.edu/help/ehraf-video-tutorials/
Immigrations, Migrations and Refugees: Global Perspectives, 1941-1996 This link opens in a new window
Translated and English-language radio and television broadcasts, newspapers, periodicals, government documents and books providing global insight on immigration in the mid-to-late 20th century.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Provides a subject index for books and articles published on literature, language, linguistics, folklore, film, and the teaching of language and literature.
Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
Provides quick and easy access to hundreds of thousands of built-in data indicators related to demography, economy, health, politics, environment, crime and more.

Environmental Studies

Agricola This link opens in a new window
Citations to materials acquired by the National Agricultural Library and cooperating institutions. Provides worldwide coverage of the agricultural literature, including economics, engineering, home economics, animal science, human nutrition, entomology, plant diseases, rural sociology, forestry, and veterinary medicine.
Search tips
Annual Review of Environment and Resources This link opens in a new window
Synthesizes and covers significant developments in the field of environment and resources in one annual volume. Search or browse. Full-text access from 2003 to present.
Birds of North America This link opens in a new window
BNA Online provides comprehensive life histories for each of the 716+ species of birds breeding in the USA (including Hawaii) and Canada.
eHRAF Archaeology This link opens in a new window
eHRAF Archaeology is an online cross-cultural database containing information on world’s prehistory. The annually-growing eHRAF database is organized by archaeological traditions and the documents are subject-indexed at the paragraph level. eHRAF Archaeology is a unique resource designed to facilitate comparative archaeological studies.
How to eHRAF tutorials: https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLzjeIIr4aCYOtRz5ogZLQl85TGzBlgzE5
eHRAF World Cultures This link opens in a new window
eHRAF World Cultures is an online cross-cultural and ethnographic database that contains descriptive information on all aspects of cultural and social life. The annually-growing eHRAF database is unique in that the information is organized by cultures and ethnic groups and every document is subject-indexed at the paragraph level, facilitating precise retrieval within documents.
How to eHRAF tutorials: https://hraf.yale.edu/help/ehraf-video-tutorials/
GreenFile This link opens in a new window
Materials on the human impact on the environment. Sources include scholarly, governmental, and general interest articles and books. It represents research from fields such as agriculture, education, law, health, and technology. Topics covered include global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
Search tips
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text and abstracts to over 2,500 journals published by Elsevier and its affiliates. ScienceDirect includes extensive coverage in science, engineering and medicine, plus many core journals in business, social sciences and humanities.
Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
Provides quick and easy access to hundreds of thousands of built-in data indicators related to demography, economy, health, politics, environment, crime and more.
Springer Journals This link opens in a new window
Provides access to more than 2,000 STEM journals.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Web of Science provides access to the world's leading citation databases in the Sciences, Social Sciences and Arts and Humanities, covering approximately 12,000 of the highest impact journals, as well as 160,000 conference proceedings. Centre has access to coverage from 1999 to present.
Video tutorials
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Provides a subject index for books and articles published on literature, language, linguistics, folklore, film, and the teaching of language and literature.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Subscribed access to these 33 multidisciplinary journals (and many open access journals): American Anthropologist, American Ethnologist, American Journal of Botany, American Journal of Political Science, Art History, Biochemistry and Molecular Biology Education, Child Development, Conservation Biology, Ecological Applications, Ecological Monographs, Ecology - NY, Economic History Review, Family Relations, FASEB Journal, Foreign Language Annals, German Life & Letters, International Social Science Journal, Journal of Aesthetics and Art Criticism, Journal of Applied Social Psychology, Journal of Ecology, Journal of Family Theory and Review, Journal of Forensic Sciences, Sociology Lens, Journal of Marriage and Family, Legislative Studies Quarterly, Modern Language Journal, Monographs of the Society for Research in Child Development, Philosophy & Phenomenological Research, Philosophy & Public Affairs, Plant Cell and Environment, Psychophysiology, Renaissance Studies, AND The Yale Review

Gender Studies

ACLS Humanities E-Book This link opens in a new window
Full-text of over 2,000 scholarly books in history and the humanities.
Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO) This link opens in a new window
Includes working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, books, journals, policy briefs, and proceedings from conferences.
Contemporary Literary Criticism This link opens in a new window
Extensive biographical and critical information on key contemporary literary works. Each entry contains a biographical/critical introduction, listing of principal works, and sources for further study.
eHRAF World Cultures This link opens in a new window
eHRAF World Cultures is an online cross-cultural and ethnographic database that contains descriptive information on all aspects of cultural and social life. The annually-growing eHRAF database is unique in that the information is organized by cultures and ethnic groups and every document is subject-indexed at the paragraph level, facilitating precise retrieval within documents.
How to eHRAF tutorials: https://hraf.yale.edu/help/ehraf-video-tutorials/
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Provides a subject index for books and articles published on literature, language, linguistics, folklore, film, and the teaching of language and literature.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Covers a wide range of news, business, legal, medical, and reference information, most available in full text. Includes newspapers, magazines, wire services, federal and state court opinions, federal and state statutes, federal regulations, and SEC filings. Most entries are full-text, some updated daily.
Search FAQ

Top 10 Features
Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
Provides quick and easy access to hundreds of thousands of built-in data indicators related to demography, economy, health, politics, environment, crime and more.
Women's Studies Archive This link opens in a new window
Women's Issues and Identities spans multiple geographic regions, providing a variety of perspectives on women's experiences and cultural impact. Within the archive can be found fascinating historical records from Europe, North and South America, Africa, India, East Asia, and the Pacific Rim with content in English, French, German, and Dutch.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Subscribed access to these 33 multidisciplinary journals (and many open access journals): American Anthropologist, American Ethnologist, American Journal of Botany, American Journal of Political Science, Art History, Biochemistry and Molecular Biology Education, Child Development, Conservation Biology, Ecological Applications, Ecological Monographs, Ecology - NY, Economic History Review, Family Relations, FASEB Journal, Foreign Language Annals, German Life & Letters, International Social Science Journal, Journal of Aesthetics and Art Criticism, Journal of Applied Social Psychology, Journal of Ecology, Journal of Family Theory and Review, Journal of Forensic Sciences, Sociology Lens, Journal of Marriage and Family, Legislative Studies Quarterly, Modern Language Journal, Monographs of the Society for Research in Child Development, Philosophy & Phenomenological Research, Philosophy & Public Affairs, Plant Cell and Environment, Psychophysiology, Renaissance Studies, AND The Yale Review

Global Commerce

Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO) This link opens in a new window
Includes working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, books, journals, policy briefs, and proceedings from conferences.
Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing for more than 8,800 serials, including full text for more than 1,100 peer-reviewed business publications. The database also includes other sources of full text information such as country economic reports from the EIU, Global Insight, ICON Group and CountryWatch, and detailed company profiles for the world's 10,000 largest companies. Additional full text, non-journal content includes market research reports, industry reports, country reports, country profiles and SWOT analyses.
Search tips
Regional Business News This link opens in a new window
A collection of full-text newswires that incorporates business news information from various regional and worldwide sources. Information provided by these sources covers business, economic, political and other diverse international news events.
Search tips
Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
Provides quick and easy access to hundreds of thousands of built-in data indicators related to demography, economy, health, politics, environment, crime and more.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Subscribed access to these 33 multidisciplinary journals (and many open access journals): American Anthropologist, American Ethnologist, American Journal of Botany, American Journal of Political Science, Art History, Biochemistry and Molecular Biology Education, Child Development, Conservation Biology, Ecological Applications, Ecological Monographs, Ecology - NY, Economic History Review, Family Relations, FASEB Journal, Foreign Language Annals, German Life & Letters, International Social Science Journal, Journal of Aesthetics and Art Criticism, Journal of Applied Social Psychology, Journal of Ecology, Journal of Family Theory and Review, Journal of Forensic Sciences, Sociology Lens, Journal of Marriage and Family, Legislative Studies Quarterly, Modern Language Journal, Monographs of the Society for Research in Child Development, Philosophy & Phenomenological Research, Philosophy & Public Affairs, Plant Cell and Environment, Psychophysiology, Renaissance Studies, AND The Yale Review

Latin American Studies

ACLS Humanities E-Book This link opens in a new window
Full-text of over 2,000 scholarly books in history and the humanities.
Archives Unbound This link opens in a new window
Archives Unbound provide smaller archival packages from Gale. To view all of the collections Centre owns, hover over the "I" information icon.
Collections:
-Liberation Movements in Africa and African America
-European Colonialism in the Early 20th Century: French Colonialism
-European Colonialism in the Early 20th Century: Political and Economic Consolidation of Portuguese Colonies
-European Colonialism in the Early 20th Century: Italy; Political, Economic, and Military Conditions in China
-Foreign Relations Between the US and Latin America
-Revolution in Honduras and America
-Correspondence from German Concentration Camps and Prisons
-Japan at War and Peace, 1930-1949: Records of the U.S. State Department Classified Files
-19th Century English Language Journals of the Far East
-Franklin D. Roosevelt and Race Relations, 1933-1945
-Allied Propaganda in World War II and the British Political Warfare Executive
-The British Mandate in Palestine, Arab-Jewish Relations, and the U.S. Consulate at Jerusalem, 1920-1944
-Conditions & Politics in Occupied Western Europe, 1940-1945
-Holocaust and the Concentration Camp Trials: Prosecution of Nazi War Crimes
-Psychological Warfare and Propaganda in World War II: Air Dropped and Shelled Leaflets and Periodicals
-Arab-Israeli Relations, 1917-1970 and Policing the Shanghai International Settlement, 1894-1945.
-Federal Surveillance of African Americans:1920-1984
-Policing The Shanghai International Settlement:1894-1945
ARTstor on JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Digital library of more than one million images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences with a suite of software tools to view, present, and manage images for research and pedagogical purposes.
Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO) This link opens in a new window
Includes working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, books, journals, policy briefs, and proceedings from conferences.
Contemporary Literary Criticism This link opens in a new window
Extensive biographical and critical information on key contemporary literary works. Each entry contains a biographical/critical introduction, listing of principal works, and sources for further study.
eHRAF World Cultures This link opens in a new window
eHRAF World Cultures is an online cross-cultural and ethnographic database that contains descriptive information on all aspects of cultural and social life. The annually-growing eHRAF database is unique in that the information is organized by cultures and ethnic groups and every document is subject-indexed at the paragraph level, facilitating precise retrieval within documents.
How to eHRAF tutorials: https://hraf.yale.edu/help/ehraf-video-tutorials/
Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive bibliography for material on the history of the world from 1450 to the present. It covers all countries and regions, excluding the United States and Canada (for those countries, see America: History and Life).
Search tips
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Provides a subject index for books and articles published on literature, language, linguistics, folklore, film, and the teaching of language and literature.
Mango Languages This link opens in a new window
Mango is an online language-learning system offering courses in around 60 different languages and dialects.
Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
Provides quick and easy access to hundreds of thousands of built-in data indicators related to demography, economy, health, politics, environment, crime and more.

Linguistics

ACLS Humanities E-Book This link opens in a new window
Full-text of over 2,000 scholarly books in history and the humanities.
AnthroSource This link opens in a new window
AnthroSource is the premier online portal serving the research, teaching and practicing needs of anthropologists. An online service of the American Anthropological Association (AAA), AnthroSource offers access to more than 100 years of anthropological knowledge, providing current content from AAA's diverse portfolio of 35 anthropological publications which includes journals, books, monographs, bulletins and newsletters.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Provides a subject index for books and articles published on literature, language, linguistics, folklore, film, and the teaching of language and literature.
Oxford Bibliographies This link opens in a new window
Developed cooperatively with scholars worldwide, Oxford Bibliographies offers authoritative research guides, combining the best features of an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia. This cutting-edge resource guides researchers to the best available scholarship. Centre College currently provides access to bibliographies for classics, international relations, and linguistics.
Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
Provides quick and easy access to hundreds of thousands of built-in data indicators related to demography, economy, health, politics, environment, crime and more.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Subscribed access to these 33 multidisciplinary journals (and many open access journals): American Anthropologist, American Ethnologist, American Journal of Botany, American Journal of Political Science, Art History, Biochemistry and Molecular Biology Education, Child Development, Conservation Biology, Ecological Applications, Ecological Monographs, Ecology - NY, Economic History Review, Family Relations, FASEB Journal, Foreign Language Annals, German Life & Letters, International Social Science Journal, Journal of Aesthetics and Art Criticism, Journal of Applied Social Psychology, Journal of Ecology, Journal of Family Theory and Review, Journal of Forensic Sciences, Sociology Lens, Journal of Marriage and Family, Legislative Studies Quarterly, Modern Language Journal, Monographs of the Society for Research in Child Development, Philosophy & Phenomenological Research, Philosophy & Public Affairs, Plant Cell and Environment, Psychophysiology, Renaissance Studies, AND The Yale Review