Gender Studies: Digitized Collections

Narratives from Harvard Law School Library's trial collections, involving domestic violence, bigamy, seduction, breach of promise to marry, custody of children, murder, and rape.

Resources from Harvard University on women's role in the U.S. economy.

Chapter from Florida State University.

Over 100 diaries by British and American women held at Duke University Library.

Resources from Harvard University covering 1796-1925.

From: teach a girl to lead, Center for American Women and Politics, Eagleton Institute of Politics, Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey.

Online exhibit from the National Library of Medicine

University of North Carolina at Greensboro's archival material from World War I to present, includes oral histories, photographs, letters, military insignia, diaries, and published work.

David M. Rubenstein Rare Book & Manuscript Library at Duke University

Exhibit highlights achievements of women in America from the 1940s to the present.

Collective biographies, three or more, aimed at young women published in the U.S. and Britain between 1830 and 1940. Project led by University of Virginia scholar Alison Booth.

Searchable collection of diaries, letters, scrapbooks, and photographs from the archives of institutions formerly known as the Seven Sisters.

Brooklyn, NY, research and movement building organization on social justice issues.

The New York Public Library Digital Collections, including Barbara Gittings and Kay Tobin Lahusen gay history papers & photographs; Diana Davies photographs; and Gran Fury (Artists' collective).

Women who campaigned for elected public office before the passage of the Nineteenth Amendment to the U.S. Constitution in August of 1920.

U. of North Texas Digital Library's collection of top fashion designs works began in 1938 by Stanley and Edward Marcus.

Project founded in 2008 by André Pérez.

Radcliffe Institute for Advanced Study at Harvard University. Rich in the areas of women's rights movements, feminism, health, social reform, education, professional life, volunteer & civic efforts, family relationships, and travel.

Many primary source collections with subject=women.

Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender Information Resource and Archives, Chicago, IL. Founded in 1981 as a depository for the records of lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgendered (LGBT) individuals and organizations.

University of Minnesota Libraries Special Collections and Rare Books unit holds material about the GLBT experience. It includes published material, organizational records, personal manuscripts, informational files, films, music, textiles, posters, and other items. The collection is international in scope and has materials in approximately 58 languages.

With a grant provided by the Illinois State Library, the Oak Park Public Library offers circulating materials that serve, welcome, and reflect transgender people.

Archival materials, ephemera, and oral histories that document the development of Chicana feminist thought during the civil rights era.

Collaboration of some 30 collections based in Worcester, MA at the College of the Holy Cross.

Covers journal articles, book reviews, and essays in books about women, sexuality, and gender during the Middle Ages. Hosted by University of Iowa Libraries.

ARTFL's (Project for American and French Research on the Treasury of the French Language) database from the 16th to the 20th century.

Part of the University of California, Santa Barbara's Voice of the Shuttle humanities research project, this site provides links to resources in women's studies, feminist theory, queer studies, and other areas. Some links are annotated.

The feminist artist protest group known as the Guerrilla Girls formed to fight discrimination against women artists and artists of color in the art world, eventually extending its reach to broader social issues. Guerrilla Girls records, 1979–2003 at The Getty Research Institute.

Crowdsourced transcriptions of digitized material from the UI Libraries special collections, University Archive, and Iowa Women’s Archives.

LGBT history in the Washington, DC area, including newsletters and fliers, t-shirts and textiles, and oral histories.

Digitized items from libraries, archives & museums.

KVINFO is the Danish Centre for Information on Gender, Equality and Diversity.

Virginia Commonwealth University Libraries

Presents scores of references, bibliographies and online resources in Women's Studies.