Health and Medical Studies: Reference

Defines nearly 30,000 medical terms in understandable everyday language

Put the language of nursing, medicine and the healthcare professions at your fingertips. Taber's 23 is the all-in-one, go-to source in the classroom, clinical, and beyond. Under the editorial direction of Donald Venes, MD, MSJ, a team of expert consulting editors and consultants representing nearly every health care profession ensures that the content reflects healthcare information.

This dictionary incorporates new material on the major developments of the last few years, including public health medicine, genetics and organ transplantation. The dictionary includes more than 10,200 clear and concise entries.

Comprising contributions from historians, scholars, researchers, sociologists, and other public health professionals, the Encyclopedia of Public Health: Principles, People, and Programs offers a firsthand, in-depth view of public health as it applies to everyday life and practice. The encyclopedia contains a wealth of information on critical theories, people, and movements and shows how various disciplines can work together to create healthy communities and practices for many people.

This reference volume emphasizes the importance and interrelationships of geological processes to the health and diseases of humans and animals. Its accessible format fosters better communication between the health and geoscience communities by elucidating the geologic origins and flow of toxic elements in the environment that lead to human exposure through the consumption of food and water.

Featuring 350 full-color photographs, botanical drawings, and maps, this accessible, fact-filled book is based on the work of renowned botanical experts and presents alphabetically arranged, beautifully illustrated entries for hundreds of plants touted for millennia to soothe, even heal.

Provides a comprehensive single source of scientifically rigorous, impartial information on over 150 of the most commonly used herbal medicinal products. Provides scientifically rigorous, impartial information on medical herbs.

This is the essential encyclopedic guide to modern complementary medicine. Featuring more than 550 key herbs and their healing properties, this heavily illustrated book will appeal to everyone interested in the future of medicine and the power of self-healing.

Details the whole scope of scientific knowledge in the medieval period in more than 300 A to Z entries. This resource discusses the research, application of knowledge, cultural and technology exchanges, experimentation, and achievements in the many disciplines related to science and technology.

A focus on leading social issues of the 19th, 20th, and 21st centuries. Each title contains approximately 175 full or excerpted documents---speeches, legislation, magazine and newspaper articles, essays, memoirs, letters, interviews, novels, songs, and works of art---as well as overview information that places each document in context.

This reference offers data on theories, concepts, discoveries and people concerning the origins of medical practice and how health issues affect individuals and society today.

This book is an essential resource for parents and grandparents of all skill levels, addressing the most common pediatric questions in caring for children of all ages, from infant through teenage years. From feeding strategies that will help your baby sleep through the night, to the best treatment for quick recovery from mononucleosis, caretakers will find tried-and-true, practical tips to keeping their children healthy, safe, and thriving through childhood.

The aim of the book is to provide information on preventive activities that can prolong life expectancy and improve the quality of life of individuals and populations. The book contains an overview of main topics of the public health and the interactions between health and the environment with an emphasis on influenceable lifestyle factors in the prevention of chronic non-communicable diseases.

Explores health and medical issues for people with disabilities. With a balance of history, theory, research, and application, specialists set out the findings and implications of research and practice for others whose current or future work involves the care or study of those with disabilities, as well as for the disabled themselves.

This biography of James Edmund Reeves illuminates landmarks of American health care: the troubled introduction of clinical epidemiology and development of botanic medicine and homeopathy, the Civil War's stimulation of sanitary science and hospital medicine, the rise of government involvement, the revolution in laboratory medicine, and the explosive growth of phony cures

Digital Medicine investigates the factors limiting digital technology's ability to remake health care. It explores the political, social, and ethical challenges presented by online health care, as well as the impact that racial, ethnic, and other disparities are having on the e-health revolution. It examines the accessibility of health-related websites for different populations and asks how we can close access gaps and ensure the reliability and trustworthiness of the information presented online.

Drawing on New Testament studies and recent scholarship on the expansion of the Christian church, Gary B. Ferngren presents a comprehensive historical account of medicine and medical philanthropy in the first five centuries of the Christian era.

Handbook of Adolescent Medicine and Health Promotion is a medical handbook for health providers, residents, and students as well as other interdisciplinary practitioners who promote the health and well-being of adolescents and young adults. With an emphasis on practical clinical approaches covering comprehensive health evaluation, which impacts on health choices and behaviors, health screening, education and health promotion, this book is a combination of pediatrics, internal medicine, gynecology, and psychology.

Offers quick access to health and wellness information most relevant to children in America's K-12 school setting. Filled with valuable guidance on developmental stages, acute and chronic illnesses, special education, nutrition, crisis response, prevention, and more.

This resource provides over 900 articles on a wide variety of community and family health topics. Written by experts from the healthcare and social services fields, articles provide helpful guidance on conditions, treatments, trends and issues facing children, families, and economically, physically or mentally disadvantaged members of the community.

This comprehensive resource of key terms and concepts in complementary health care addresses practices, health conditions, and research-based treatments. Over 300 entries by distinguished contributors to the field explain such alternative therapies as naturopathy, homeopathy, chiropractic, nutrition, and massage. One section is devoted to pertinent issues in complementary health practice including economics, legal ramifications, education, and historical perspectives.

This edition reflects the changes and developments in nutrition research. Beginning with an overview of food and food constituents, the book outlines nutrient analysis systems, techniques for data analysis, and food labeling. The second section reviews nutrition science including terminology, biochemistry, nutrient-nutrient interactions, and comparative nutrition.

Contains information on nonprescription drug pharmacotherapy, nutritional supplements, medical foods, nondrug and preventive measures, and complementary and alternative therapies.

The Merck Index is a one-volume encyclopedia of chemicals, drugs and biologicals that contains more than 10,000 monographs. Each monograph in this authoritative reference source is a concise description of a single substance or a small group of closely related compounds.