Engineering

Provides a comprehensive reference for hundreds of environmental engineering terms used throughout the field. This edition includes terms relating to pollution control technologies, monitoring, risk assessment, sampling and analysis, quality control, and permitting. Users of this dictionary will find exact and official Environmental Protection Agency definitions for environmental terms that are statute-related, regulation-related, science-related, and engineering-related

In over 8,500 clear and concise A to Z entries, it provides definitions and explanations for mechanical engineering terms in the core areas of design, stress analysis, dynamics and vibrations, thermodynamics, and fluid mechanics. Topics covered include heat transfer, combustion, control, lubrication, robotics, instrumentation, and measurement

In over 8000 entries, this dictionary covers the key areas of construction and civil engineering, construction technology and practice, construction management techniques and processes, as well as legal aspects such as contracts and procurement

In over 3,400 concise and authoritative A to Z entries, it provides definitions and explanations for chemical engineering terms in areas including: materials, energy balances, reactions, separations, sustainability, safety, and ethics.

Biomedical engineering has multiple areas of specialization that include: biomechanics, biomaterials, tissue engineering, imaging, and bioinstrumentation. This book serves as a guide to students and professionals seeking to understand commonly used technical terms and phrases in the biomedical engineering field. The content is specifically designed to define technical terms in a general context to facilitate an overall understanding.

This book presents important research advances in the study of water pollution, as well as marine pollution, river pollution, lake pollution, water purification, cruise ship pollution and the acidification of the earth's oceans. Topics discussed herein include wastewater treatment; removal of halogenated hydrocarbons from water; environmental biomonitoring; marine debris; petroleum pollution; envirometrics as a tool for lake pollution assessment; simulation of ecosystem degradation; and advanced technologies for water treatment.

The Encyclopedia of Aerodynamics was written for pilots at all levels from private pilot to airline pilot, military pilots and students of aerodynamics as a complete reference manual to aerodynamic terminology. General aerodynamic text books for pilots are relatively limited in their scope while aerodynamic text books for engineering students involve complex calculus.

Power Electronics Handbook brings together over 100 years of combined experience in the specialist areas of power engineering to offer a fully revised and updated expert guide to total power solutions. Designed to provide the best technical and most commercially viable solutions available, this handbook undertakes any or all aspects of a project requiring specialist design, installation, commissioning and maintenance services. Comprising a complete revision throughout and enhanced chapters on semiconductor diodes and transistors and thyristors, this volume includes renewable resource content useful for the new generation of engineering professionals. This market leading reference has new chapters covering electric traction theory and motors and wide band gap (WBG) materials and devices.