Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Online Reference Materials
Oxford Art Online
access to the entire text of The Dictionary of Art (REF N31.D5 1996, 34
vols.) with annual additions of new material and updates to the text,
plus extensive image links. The online database also includes The
Oxford Companion to Western Art, The Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and
The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms.
Oxford Reference Online: Art & Architecture
Dictionary of Contemporary American Artists by
Call Number: REFBasement N6512 .C854 1994
Publication Date: 1994-06-15
A completely revised and updated sixth edition of the most useful and detailed directory of America's leading artists. Over 900 comprehensive entries including biographical data, exhibitions, special commissions, collections, and a bibliography. With 149 newly selected illustrations.
History of African-American Artists by
Publication Date: 1993-10-26
A landmark work of art history: lavishly illustrated and extraordinary for its thoroughness, A History of African-American Artists -- conceived, researched, and written by the great American artist Romare Bearden with journalist Harry Henderson, who completed the work after Bearden's death in 1988 -- gives a conspectus of African-American art from the late eighteenth century to the present. It examines the lives and careers of more than fifty signal African-American artists, and the relation of their work to prevailing artistic, social, and political trends both in America and throughout the world. Beginning with a radical reevaluation of the enigma of Joshua Johnston, a late eighteenth-century portrait painter widely assumed by historians to be one of the earliest known African-American artists, Bearden and Henderson go on to examine the careers of Robert S. Duncanson, Edward M. Bannister, Henry Ossawa Tanner, Aaron Douglas, Edmonia Lewis, Jacob Lawrence, Hale A. Woodruff, Augusta Savage, Charles H. Alston, Ellis Wilson, Archibald J. Motley, Jr., Horace Pippin, Alma W. Thomas, and many others. Illustrated with more than 420 black-and-white illustrations and 61 color reproductions -- including rediscovered classics, works no longer extant, and art never before seen in this country -- A History of African-American Artists is a stunning achievement.
Continuum Encyclopedia of Native Art by
Publication Date: 2000-06-01
This comprehensive reference text covers the often misunderstood area of aesthetics, anthropology and mythology within tribal or indigenous non-Western art. Including hundreds of entries and illustrations, it includes art from the cultures and tribal kingdoms of: Nigeria, Australia, Indonesia and Polynesia, Western and Central Africa, Canada and Alaska, and the continental United States.
The Oxford Companion to Aboriginal Art and Culture by
Publication Date: 2001-02-01
This unique publication will provide a wide-ranging and intellectually challenging reference to indigenous Australian art, covering documented archaeologically traditions, art styles of the early contact period and the nineteenth century, and the development of the remarkably diversecontemporary Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander art practices that have attracted so much attention in recent years. The Companion will draw upon much original research on art and culture in remote Aboriginal communities, and on the emergence of Aboriginal art in urban institutions, markets, andexhibitions. Academics, graduates, and general readers will find concise and authoritative analysis on specific topics and regional traditions, unavailable even in specialist databases. Distinguished indigenous and non-indigenous scholars have been commissioned to write on individuals, artistictraditions, and historical shifts. The Companion will address more fully than any previous book important regional variations and historical developments in relation to colonial occupation and white Australian society over time. The Companion's primary emphasis is upon visual art, though surveyentries on indigenous literature, theatre, and music among other areas provide a wider context.Essays, 'boxes' and 'voices' will be commissioned from well-established and emerging indigenous and non-indigenous writers. The presence of key historical figures such as Oodgeroo Noonucal and Kevin Gilbert will be heard through excerpts from previously published material or the use of archivalsources made available for the first time.The visual component in the Companion is not viewed as simply an adjunct to or illustration of the written text, but is seen to be vitally important to its rationale. Visuality has contributed to the growing critical acclaim and widespread popularity of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander artnationally and internationally. Therefore extensive illustrations in colour and in black and white will be included to not only offer a critical understanding of objects and events but to acknowledge the key role visuality plays in Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander culture. The 400illustrations will be extensively captioned and some of the entries will be read as visual storyboards, equally as important as the essays. Complementing this focus on visuality, there will be additional reference material: maps, diagrams, chronologies providing a comprehensive listing of the majorexhibitions of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander art, locally and oveseas and guides to further reading.
World Architecture Index by
Publication Date: 1991-05-24
This is a unique reference tool for finding images of approximately 7,000 architectural works reproduced in more than 100 books likely to be available in libraries with architectural collections. The index is international in coverage; includes a variety of architectural, engineering, and planning works; and covers most historical periods and styles. Citations to reproductions of exterior and interior views, plans, sections, and elevations are provided, and access is enabled by building site, architect, type of work, and name of work indexes. The index is organized into four parts. Part I, the Site Index, is the principal index and lists architectural works alphabetically according to specific location. For each work, the following information is provided, if available: name of work, alternate names, date of work, architect(s), and citation information organized according to exterior view, interior view, plan, section, or elevation. The Architect Index, Part II, lists alphabetically the architects, engineers, planners, and others responsible for works cited in Part I. A typical listing provides the name of the architect, other names by which he or she is known, life dates, and the works listed alphabetically with their sites. The third part organizes the works according to particular type of building or structure. Part IV, the Work Index, lists names and alternate names of works and parts of works, as revealed in the indexed sources. The books indexed for this unique reference work were selected to form a representative survey of the major periods of architectural history. World Architecture Index is a unique reference and research tool that will be welcomed by students and scholars of architecture, art history, civil engineering, interior design, landscape architecture, urban planning, and world history.