Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Why Use Reference?
Reading about your topic in a specialized encyclopedia, dictionary, or handbook may be one of the most effective and time saving research tips. These resources can help you define unfamiliar terms, understand the parameters of current debate in a particular area and provide you with a preliminary bibliography on the subject. Listed here are a few sources to get you started.
Web Reference Resources
Tate | Glossary
The Tate Glossary online is designed to explain and illuminate some of the art terminology you will find in the collection pages. It contains definitions, most with illustrations, of nearly 300 terms including artist groups and art movements, techniques, media and other art jargon. Terms are listed alphabetically. Most definitions are illustrated by example images.
What is cinnabar? What is a rhyton? The Getty vocabularies contain structured terminology for art, architecture, decorative arts and other material culture, archival materials, visual surrogates, and bibliographic materials. Compliant with international standards, they provide authoritative information for catalogers and researchers, and can be used to enhance access to databases and Web sites.
Economics Reference Titles
Art and Art History Reference Titles