It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Arts and Markets: Economic Histories of the Arts: Catalogue Raisonne' and Newspaper Accounts of an Artist/Art Works
Production, reception and the distribution and sale of art have historically influenced the aesthetics and creation of art. This guide will focus on finding and using materials for research in the area of the economic history of art.
Try a search with the author's name and Catalogue Raisonne' as a search term.
The first place to start when researching an artist or individual work, especially when tracing the owners of art works and the number of times a work of art has changed hands. All of the works of an artist in a single book in which a scholar or a group of scholars has documented every work of an artist's career. Each work is pictured, with scholarly opinions, provenance (where the work has been), literature about the work, and sales information (when known and available). Worldcat is an excellent place to search for an artist's Catalogue Raisonne'.
Newspapers, magazines and journals from alternative and independent presses. This interdisciplinary resource provides a valuable source of viewpoints and perspectives to complement and challenge mainstream media coverage.
Use a newspaper to find local, regional or national current events, entertainment, editorials, and reviews. Historical newspapers can provide unique eye witness accounts of events. For assistance in using these resources, or to find additional information, contact a Reference Librarian.
Global Newsstream enables users to search the most recent global news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in active full- text format.
Includes all the articles published since the first issue of the paper in 1851 to 2007. In addition to news stories, includes editorials, letters to the editor, obituaries, birth and marriage announcements, photos, and advertisements. Recent issues are available on the LexisNexis Academic database.
Provides cover-to-cover full-text for more than 40 U.S. and international newspapers, selective full-text for more than 330 regional U.S. newspapers, and full-text television and radio news transcripts from CBS News, CNN, CNN International, FOX News, NPR, etc.
Covers a wide range of news, business, legal, medical, and reference information, most available in full text. Includes newspapers, magazines, wire services, federal and state court opinions, federal and state statutes, federal regulations, and SEC filings. Most entries are full-text, some updated daily.
Full-image archive of every page published by The Times (London) from 1785-2012. The text within the images is fully searchable at the article level. Does not include the Sunday Times, the Times Literary Supplement, the Times Educational Supplement, the Times Higher Education Supplement. For current articles, see Lexis-Nexis Academic.