Theatre: Internet Resources

More than 3,000 links to ballet and dance companies around the world. This ballet search engine will help ballet fans find performances in their area.

Digitized books from the Western Michigan University Libraries collection, showing images of fashion from 1750 to 1850. The collection can be fully accessed through the LUNA link.

Official database for Broadway theatre information. IBDB provides records of productions from the beginnings of New York theatre until today.

A listing of several thousand institutions around the world describing their collections in the areas of radio, television, cabaret, ballet, opera, music, circus, film, pantomime, and theater. May be browsed by name, collection, or location.

Complete details on more than 470,000 films, including made for television movies and series.

News and ticketing information for London productions.

The website of the theater program publisher. Includes news and information on current Broadway, off-Broadway, regional U.S., and London productions, an awards database, box-office and other financial data, and audition listings.

Links to more than 2,000 websites organized in sections such as historical, theatrical, ethnic, and making costumes.

Comprehensive listings, news, reviews, interviews, video content and online ticketing for Broadway, Off-Broadway, Off-Off-Broadway and theater nationwide.

Official website of the American Theatre Wing's Tonay Awards. Includes this years nominations, past winners, and other information.

The website for the entertainment industry's standard news source.

BroadwayWorld is the largest theatre site on the Internet covering Broadway, the West End and beyond to 100 US cities, 45 countries and in 12 languages worldwide. With over six million monthly visitors, BroadwayWorld delivers complete up-to-the-minute Broadway, off-Broadway, and regional theatre news, in-depth interviews, extraordinary photo coverage, entertaining video features, lively message boards, ticket discounts, reviews, and more.

Offers descriptions and ratings of more than 220,000 feature films and documentaries.

Illustrates the vibrant and diverse forms of popular entertainment, especially vaudeville, that thrived from 1870-1920.

Over 13,000 images of items selected from the Federal Theatre Project Collection at the Library of Congress. Featured here are stage and costume designs, still photographs, posters, and scripts for productions of Macbeth and The Tragical History of Dr. Faustus as staged by Orson Welles, and for Power, a topical drama of the period. Also included are 68 other playscripts and 168 documents selected from the Federal Theatre Project Administrative Records.

PLAYOGRAPHYIreland comprises two comprehensive online searchable databases: Irish Playography (all new professionally produced Irish plays written in English since the formation of the Abbey, Ireland's National Theatre, in 1904) and Playography na Gaeilge (all new plays written and produced in the Irish language since 1901).

A wealth of theater links, including an index to plays online.

The American Society for Theatre Research (ASTR) is a U.S.-based professional organization that fosters scholarship on worldwide theatre and performance, both historical and contemporary. Members of the American Society for Theatre Research say the Society is a space to share scholarship and a home for networking within the profession. ASTR also sponsors or coordinates several awards, grants, fellowships, and prizes to support and recognize outstanding scholarship in theatre and performance studies.

An advocate for the field of theatre and performance in higher education, the Association for Theatre in Higher Education (ATHE) serves as an intellectual and artistic center for producing new knowledge about theatre and performance-related disciplines, cultivating vital alliances with other scholarly and creative disciplines, linking with professional and community-based theatres, and promoting access and equity.

The Black Theatre Network is comprised of artists, educators, scholars, students and theatre lovers who are dedicated to the exploration and preservation of the theatrical visions of the African Diaspora. For 35 years, the Black Theatre Network has collected, processed and distributed information that supports the professional and personal development of its membership (comprised of individuals engaged in the full range of theatre professions, professional and community theatres and organizations, and academic institutions). The Black Theatre Network (BTN) is an inclusive organization, run by a volunteer board, that:

Provides Black Theatre artists and scholars with a milieu for communicating and exchanging ideas

Provides a national forum for the examination, discussion and planning of theatre events

Encourages the production of plays about the Black experience at home and abroad

Disseminates employment & career development opportunities in theatre to its members

Supports development & production of theatre events at local, regional, and national levels

Honors & celebrates the pioneers & practitioners who have impacted the American Theatre