Databases A-to-Z: O-P

Includes records for more than 1.4 million electronic theses and dissertations from more than 320 universities around the world

The premier online resource covering today's hottest social issues, from capital punishment to immigration to marijuana. This cross-curricular resource supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts classes. Informed, differing views help learners develop critical-thinking skills and draw their own conclusions. A rich resource for debaters, including viewpoints, reference articles, infographics, news, images, video, audio, and more.

Provides web access to the entire text of Grove Art and The Dictionary of Art along with several other art resources such as The Oxford Companion to Western Art, Benezit Dictionary of Artists, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms.

Developed cooperatively with scholars worldwide, Oxford Bibliographies offers authoritative research guides, combining the best features of an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia. This cutting-edge resource guides researchers to the best available scholarship. Centre College currently provides access to bibliographies for classics, international relations, and linguistics.

The Oxford English Dictionary is the preeminent dictionary of the English language. In addition to current definitions, it traces the development of words - thus readers can use the OED to find out what words meant at different periods. Entries include etymologies and quotations illustrating a word's meaning and use.

Comprehensive music encyclopedia, with coverage of music history, theory and practice, musical terminology, and biographies. Oxford Music Online is the access point for Oxford Dictionary of Music, Oxford Companion to Music, and Grove Music Online.

A continually-updated collection of language and subject dictionaries, encyclopedias, and other reference works published by Oxford University Press. All titles in the collection are cross-searchable; individual titles may be searched separately as well.

Oxford University Press (OUP) is the world's largest university press with the widest global presence. Centre College subscribes to 5 OUP publications including Plant Physiology, Genetics, Literary Imagination, Plant Cell, & Teaching Tools in Plant Biology.

Provides indexing and abstracts from books and journals of philosophy and related fields. It covers the areas of ethics, aesthetics, epistemology, logic, and metaphysics as well as material on the philosophy of disciplines, such as law, religion, science, history, and education.

PhilPapers is a comprehensive index and bibliography of philosophy maintained by the community of philosophers. All sources of research content in philosophy, including journals, books, open access archives, and personal pages are monitored and maintained by academics. PhilPapers hosts the largest open access archive in philosophy.

The American Physical Society's online archive for Physical Review Letters, Reviews of Modern Physics, and Physical Review A-E. It contains all APS journal articles published from 1893. Each January, another year is added to the archive.

The PILOTS database is an electronic index to the worldwide literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental-health consequences of exposure to traumatic events.

Designed specifically for elementary school libraries and public library children's rooms, Primary Search contains full text for popular, elementary school magazines. All full text articles are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles).

Indexing of periodical publications covering vocational/technical topics, including technology, healthcare, building trades, auto mechanics, sales and retail, accounting, graphic design, photography, and nursing.

Full text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology from nearly 80 journals published by the American Psychological Association and allied organizations. Coverage spans 1894 to present; nearly all APA journals go back to volume 1.

The most comprehensive international database of psychology. PsycINFO includes relevant materials from related disciplines such as medicine, psychiatry, education, social work, law, criminology, social science, and organizational behavior. It provides indexes to journals, dissertations, book chapters, books, technical reports, and other documents from 1887 to the present. Many journals are available in full-text.

Full text psychology database covering information concerning topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods.

PubChem contains the chemical structures of small organic molecules and information on their biological activities and is searchable via PubChem Substance, PubChem Compound, PubChem Bioassay and PubChem Structure Search.

An online database of citations to biomedical and other life science literature, created by the US National Library of Medicine. Its largest component is the MEDLINE bibliographical database. PubMed Central is a digital archive of literature drawn from biomedical and life science journals and linked to the PubMed database.