Website: Gender Studies: Articles

Peer-reviewed Journals

Focus on Gender
Aims to promote, inspire & support development policy & practice, which furthers the goal of equality between women & men.
Gender and Development
Focuses specifically on gender & women's issues internationally & aims to explore the links between gender & development initiatives around the world.
Gender and Education
Articles and viewpoints from around the world which contribute to feminist knowledge, theory, consciousness, action, and debate
Gender and History
Examines changing conceptions of gender, and maps the dialogue between femininities, masculinities and their historical contexts.
Gender and Society
Gender studies in anthropology, economics, history, political science, sociology, and social psychology that are framed by a social analysis and a feminist perspective.
Gender Issues
Peer reviewed articles on basic and applied research on the relationships between men and women; on similiarities & differences in socialization, personality, & behavior; & on the changing roles of women around the world.
Sexualities, Evolution and Gender
Examines the psychology of gender-specific behaviors, including gender roles, gender differences and gender relations.
Sexuality and Culture
Acts as a forum for analysis of ethical, cultural, social, & political issues related to sexual relationships & sexual behavior.
Tulane Journal of Law and Sexuality
Covering legal issues of interest to the lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender community on a wide variety of subjects, including constitutional, employment, family, health, insurance, and military law.

General Resources

JSTOR
Provides image and full text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in several social sciences and humanities disciplines including African-American Studies, Anthropology, Economics, Education, Literature, Philosophy, Political Science, and Sociology. The most current issues (typically from the past three to five years) are not included.
Academic Search Complete
Designed for college students, this scholarly resource contains indexing and abstracts for more than 13,780 journals, with full-text for more than 9,000 of those titles.
Web of Science
Web of Science provides access to the world's leading citation databases in the Sciences, Social Sciences and Arts and Humanities, covering approximately 12,000 of the highest impact journals, as well as 160,000 conference proceedings. Centre has access to coverage from 1999 to present.
Video tutorials

Articles

New Resource

Independent Voices: An Open Access Collection of an Alternative Press
Digital material from the magazines, journals, newsletters, and newspapers of the alternative press archives of participating libraries spanning the 1960’s to the 1980’s. Starting with collections by feminists and the GI press, the collection will grow to include small literary magazines, underground newspapers, LGBT periodicals, the minority press (Latino, Black and Native American) and the extreme right-wing press. Includes materials from Northwestern University's Charles Deering McCormick Library of Special Collections.

Google Scholar

Search for scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. [Google Scholar Settings Library links to Northwestern University - Find it @ NU (you can choose up to five libraries)]:

Open Access Collections

Directory of Open Access Journals
Indexes and provides access to 1,720,260 articles in 9,986 journals from 134 countries.
Internet Archive's Magazine Rack
Over 34,000 digitized magazines and monthly publications.