Gender Studies: Recommended Sites

David M. Rubenstein Rare Book & Manuscript Library at Duke University

University of North Carolina at Greensboro's archival material from World War I to present, includes oral histories, photographs, letters, military insignia, diaries, and published work.

Brooklyn, NY, research and movement building organization on social justice issues.

Improving the Lives of Black LGBT People Globally, Washington, D.C.

University of California, Berkeley

Online exhibit from the National Library of Medicine

Exhibit highlights achievements of women in America from the 1940s to the present.

Collective biographies, three or more, aimed at young women published in the U.S. and Britain between 1830 and 1940. Project led by University of Virginia scholar Alison Booth.

Searchable collection of diaries, letters, scrapbooks, and photographs from the archives of institutions formerly known as the Seven Sisters.

History of U.S. woman's suffrage in primary source documents, lesson plans, and educational resources from the National Women's History Museum.

By Ellen Bosman. ALA Choice LibGuides Bibliographic Essay.

Sites for, by and about women

The New York Public Library Digital Collections, including Barbara Gittings and Kay Tobin Lahusen gay history papers & photographs; Diana Davies photographs; and Gran Fury (Artists' collective).

"Now in its fifth decade, the Guttmacher Institute continues to advance sexual and reproductive health and rights through an interrelated program of research, policy analysis and public education designed to generate new ideas, encourage enlightened public debate and promote sound policy and program development. The Institute’s overarching goal is to ensure the highest standard of sexual and reproductive health for all people worldwide."

Her Campus is an online magazine targeted at the female college student demographic.

Women who campaigned for elected public office before the passage of the Nineteenth Amendment to the U.S. Constitution in August of 1920.

Think tank founded by economist Heidi Hartmann focusing on quantitative and qualitative analysis of public policy, located in Washington, DC.

Publishes reports, policy briefs, toolkits and position papers on a range of topics.

The oldest and largest national legal organization seeking the civil rights of lesbians, gay men, bisexuals, transgender people and those with HIV.

"Websites you can trust."

"...civil rights organization dedicated to the empowerment of Black lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender and queer (LGBTQ) people"

A social justice advocacy organization founded in 2003.

Institute for Women’s Policy Research provides data on women’s progress in 50 states, the District of Columbia, and the United States overall.

U. of North Texas Digital Library's collection of top fashion designs works began in 1938 by Stanley and Edward Marcus.

Project founded in 2008 by André Pérez.

Developed and maintained by the Women & Gender Studies Section of the Association of College & Research Libraries.

Maryville University, St. Louis, MO [site suggested by Josephine & Chloe, 1/19/18]

More than 700 annotated entries

From: teach a girl to lead, Center for American Women and Politics, Eagleton Institute of Politics, Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey.

Newberry Library's Digital Collections for the Classroom, updated 10/10/2016.